We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Husband & I stayed here 8/12 for 2 nights...our first trip to Oregon, 1st stop down the coast. Wish we had planned for a longer stay! Room not fancy, just totally sufficient w/nicely equipped kitchen area, large table, comfortable bed, fireplace, porch w/steps to grill & picnic table...then straight out to beautiful beach. Stayed on first floor - no complaints at all. The Patels were lovely people...our hopes are to return.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook, stock up before you reach Rockaway...options are limited in immediate area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAtraveler6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    32
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was to be our third stop for the night on our amazing but long drive north from San Francisco.to Anacortes, Washington on Hiway 1. We were worn out and, arriving later than intended, we weren't looking forward to unpacking that night and repacking in the morning for the drive to our friend's place in Anacortes. We intentionally booked a little nicer place for our last stop but our first look at our room still was a surprise. A big sliding door opened out onto a deck with steps down to a beautiful beach. Next to the sliding door was a fireplace ready to light.

One look and we knew we had to stay an extra night and enjoy this place but this was a Friday. Would they have a room for Saturday? They did but we would have to move to a different room that was even nicer. They told us to just get our stuff ready and they would move it for us. That was a real bonus as we had extra stuff for a wedding we attended on the way up and didn't have the sense to ship home.

So we went to breakfast and sightseeing. When we came back everything was in the new room. It was a very pleasant stay and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Anil, the manager was a jewel.

I would recommend the Tradwinds Motel to anyone.

Al & Pat

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the ocean. Be sure to get an ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllenLPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundup, MT
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Rockaway Beach is one of my favorite places on the Oregon coast. This motel takes full advantage of the reasons this location is a favorite. We stayed in a non-view room that was very nice; clean and well cared for, good WiFi access, and a semi-comfortable bed. The bed is always my main complaint when staying away from home. This one was not as bad as some I have slept on but not the best.
The beach access is great, with a nice sitting area above the retaining wall. We walked down the beach to the public access area and up to the 101 strip for supper, then back to the beach for the walk to the motel. I could easily stay here again, but if if was for more than the one night I would get a view room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlavoie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in April and I have zero complaints. Perfect view, loved the beach access and the staff were all very helpful and polite. We could not ask for more in the room it had everything we needed, full bathroom with a nice shower,kitchen table, kitchen had pots and pans etc. Nice bed,cable,WiFi and love the fireplace and leaving the sliding door open listening to the waves. My perfect idea of a vacation!
I think the rates are a great deal especially with the off season specials and love that we can bring our small dog. Rockaway is a great little town can't wait to go back, planning our next trip now!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJenHaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The outside of the motel has beautiful flowers everywhere, looks like a heavenly oasis. Room had wonderful view, was large and spacious, pet friendly, everything we were looking for. First dog found a candy wrapper under edge of bed, wasn't ours, next, husband went in to use bathroom, called me to come look, rim of toilet was filthy, splatters, hair, really dirty, and looked as tho it hadn't been cleaned thru several travelers. Makes one wonder what else missed getting cleaned. The vinyl was curled away from tub and really gross dirt and toilet paper in the separation. Just not our standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: We were in room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grannyjohnson531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinaksh, Manager at Tradewinds Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
I guess saying we're sorry doesn't quite cut it. We dropped the ball. This guest has every right to be mad, however, the time to see something rectified is not after the fact. I wish the guest had come to the office immediately upon noticing these things. We would have either given them a new room with a discount or given a full refund on their money had they chosen to leave. We also provide guest feedback cards at check in and the guest did not leave us any comments regarding any of these things. If we are to rectify our errors it is easier if we know about it.
I know that when I have stayed anywhere on my travels, and have run into any type of problems with the room or accommodations, the front desk knows about it right away. This gives them a chance to correct things and make it right. If they choose to ignore it, I might contact the management and finally a review. In my experience when an establishment knows about a problem they make every effort to correct it and ensure the guest comes away with a good experience.
We are disappointed this guest did not inform us as soon as they found the first problem. This didn't give us a chance to prove ourselves and worse yet, the guest left unhappy. Not having been given a chance to correct things, means no amount of apologies will erase their bad experience. However we'd still like to extend our sincere apologies to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We came across this little hotel (not really a "motel") as we were very unhappy with the original place we booked (we strongly do NOT recommend the Silver Sands unless you like stinky, run down old rooms without privacy). The owner at the front desk was very helpful and obviously has pride in his business. Our room has a stunning view...if it were any closer to the surf we would have salt water in our bed! The second floor has a med sized balcony that is perfect for 2 to sit and have a glass of wine and listen to the surf. Our room also has a fireplace which is great and a well equipped little kitchenette. The room is very clean and quite large-table with 3 chairs, queen bed, sofa and a tv (in case you really can't stand the sound of waves.)
We are happy to have found this little place.

Room Tip: The lower rooms have private patio/decks as well and would also be nice, we enjoyed the view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TipsyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Did not have a room with an ocean view, so I'm assuming that they are a lot nicer. Our room was small and very dated. We arrived pretty late at night, so had no opportunity to check out the ocean side of things before we left in the morning. The blow dryer malfunctioned and a large chunk of my hair got caught up in it and burned! After cutting myself loose, we tried to bring the dryer to the front desk when we checked out, but no one was there. Ended up leaving it in the room with a note - hope no one else gets attacked! The staff that we met when checking in was very pleasant - hope they are the ones that got my note!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcarbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinaksh, Manager at Tradewinds Motel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We are so sorry this guest had trouble with the hair dryer! We are not a 24 hour desk and it appears that the guest came to the office when we were closed. Had they rung the night bell, they would have been served immediately and we would have made every effort to make it right with them.
We pride ourselves on being there for the guest. We have also been told on numerous occasions by stranded guests, that we are the only ones who will open their door even at 3am in the morning.
The house keeping staff did bring the note down and the hair dryer has been replaced. The staff has been instructed to keep a better eye on things and inform the office immediately of problems they find so this kind of incident is not repeated.
We are sorry and would like to offer our sincere apologies to this guest.We hope this guest will give us another chance to prove ourselves.

Neil P. -- Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
17.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,021 reviews
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
10.9 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Property: Tradewinds Motel
Address: 523 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing