We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Bargain/View”
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Came to this website before planning trip & it was worth it. We stayed over Memorial weekend & still only paid $139. Off season, it's probably one of the best deals around. Front of hotel was under construction but we were in back on 2nd floor. You open your back sliding door & the ocean is literally right there! Has great fireplace and kitchen area and a very generous sized room. Not the Ritz (rooms could use some updating) but still worth every penny. Owner was very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sactocandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2008

We got to Tradewinds and were greeted warmly by the staff. On first entrance to the room, we were thrilled. Absolutely what we wanted but were surprised with more. We knew the room would have an ocean view, and it did. An 8' by 10' wide sliding door with the waves crashing on the beach just below our balcony (ask for the second floor!). What we didn't know was that we would have a fireplace and small kitchen area in the room (perfect for storing the pizza from Upper Crust just across the street.) This is the PERFECT place for a relaxing and beautiful getaway or vacation. Definitely spring for the ocean view. This is a much better value than others in the area and up north in Seaside.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank evan4tpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

What's not to like? Ok, if you are looking for 5 star luxury, you might want to spend a lot more money.

But for less than $100, the Tradewinds gives you unobstructed oceanfront views, (although there are non-oceanfront rooms, the vast majority face the ocean), a balcony on the second floor (and patio area from the first floor), a fireplace, a kitchen with mid-sized compact fridge, microwave, range and oven, and a nice tv with more channels than you wanna watch, all in a clean and spacious room.

Carpets are new, the couch was new (a sleeper sofa) and comfortable enough to sit in for a decent length of time, the bed was firm and comfortable. A Duraflame firelog comes with the room; if you wish to burn more than one per day, they charge $4.00 for an extra log. The owner, Neil, was accomodating in all ways, helpful with requests for a corkscrew, restaurant advice, and road conditions for the trip home.

The "negatives": If you are a light sleeper, and it is very windy, there is a whistle against the sliding glass door. It did not keep either my wife or me awake. If you need a super-firm bed, don't spend the night curled next to your parnter (the bed is very comfortable, but combined, we weigh about 300 lbs, and it sags a tiny bit then). If you require absolute silence, go elsewhere. Here you may hear neighbors open their sliding glass door or a kid running down the outside stairs: we did NOT hear conversations or the tv from our neighbors. If a scratch on the baseboards or a curled piece of wallpaper bothers you, be forewarned: this place is not the Hyatt! The outside probably deserves a new paint job in the next year or two. If you can live with those, you'll have a wonderful time here. If not, good luck in Rockaway!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Rockaway Beach was only an overnight stop for my wife and I on our two-week exploration of the Pacific Northwest. Our intent was to stay in only non-chain motels. We picked the Tradewinds based on Tripadvisor reviews and were completely pleased with our experience. Our room was not on the ocean side but access to the marvelous beach was simple. The lower price more than compensated for the limited view.
At check-in, the staff was more than helpful. We talked for a considerable time and were given information on local dining options, best places to view the Redwoods in Northern California, and “Don’t Miss” sights in San Francisco. I would heartily recommend the Tradewinds to any traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Amazing place right on the beach front. We booked two adjoining rooms. The larger was oceanfront with queen bed, full kitchen, fireplace etc. Second was in the back (front of hotel with Queen bed, minifridge, microwave and cofeemaker. Kids loved having their own bedroom, bathroom, fridge and tv. The location can not be beat. Beautiful views, right on the beach, barbeques to use, beach fires, walking distance to downtown.... I could go on and on. And VERY, VERY CLEAN. Neil and staff are super nice and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gingertea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We stopped here on the spur of the moment, because we wanted to stay on the beach at least one night on our trip, for $140ish we were treated to beachfront (Not beach view, On the beach front) location that was fantastic, Real fire (Altough we didnt need it) Full kitchen, large room. I could go on on and on about how great our stay was, but i wont, all i will say is - STAY THERE, I cant see how anywhere would be better for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pace142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

I rented the jacuzzi suite for 2 nights and had an excellent stay!!
the room was big with 2 rooms one room had a queen bed kitchen and a real dinning room table that sat 4 comfortabley and a couch that made into a bed tv ect the second room had a queen bed the jacuzzi and a tv
the rooms were clean
I took my daughter and her daughter my grandaughter loved the mirror over the bed in the jacuzzi room LOL such fun LOL
the patio was great with our own access to the back of the hotel and then stairs right there to access the beach their are picnic tables and warming stoves or bq It looked like they were being used for both righ at the bottom of the patio stairs leading to the rooms it was great!!!
the owners are very friendly and were a joy to talk to wonderful family!!!
I took these 2 pictures of twin rocks and the sunset from my patio
overall I would recommend this hotel to all travelers!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
17.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,233 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Address: 523 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9923
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing