We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

ive been here many times over 26 years, it was the first place i ever stayed @ on the ocean, and ever since then we've been coming back here as a tradition. the rooms, are very plain, beds uncomfortable, very dated furnishings TV etc.. but it's cozy, charming, affordable, and has a nice beach. we intended to stay again this October, but after i reserved a room, i emailed the current owner? and told him he was rude on the phone, and i questioned the rate which is $36 more than in 2010 for the same month and same room, a total of $138 (too expensive for this type of Motel) when u can get more for ur $$ elsewhere! so... instead of caring about making a long time customer happy, he sent me an email with a CANCELATION number! nice way to treat people.. :(

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoreMeows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    84
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
104
100
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We went as a young couple 20 years ago and returned this week. Like a time machine it was unchanged except for free wi-fi. Great staff and unbeatable beach location . The kitchenette rooms are worth the extra dollars. Pet friendly (for a 10 dollar fee). Compared to other Motels, it feels, big ,spacious and homey if a bit ragged. Not cheap but not outrageous either.

Room Tip: You must reserve for summer weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Their website said "resort" hotel. Not motel, there is a difference. We had a kitchenette room which was on the ground floor, and had a beautiful view of the Pacific. The back door that "opened" onto a private "balcony/patio" was actually a 3x6 slab of concrete that had to be shared with the next door room. The shower was a bit tricky to figure out, as some of the handles were on backwards or too tight. The rooms were very clean, however outdated. Quite literally right outside my window (which had to be kept open as there was no a/c) was the main sidewalk where EVERYONE walked by, looking in and if they were talking, it reverberated throughtout the room. Be advised Rockaway Beach is a VERY small beach town. Nearest gas station is in the next town over. Overall, this would be a nice place for a large family on a budget. But for me, this was an alright place to scout out where I want to come, stay and explore on our next trip, and that will definitely NOT be here. There are too many really nice places on the Oregon coast that are far nicer, have more up to date accommodations and are more geared toward relaxing in peace than silver sands motel. Safe travels!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootall13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Left my jewelry behind... gone less than an hour before I realized it. I know people are responsible for their own items but COME ON!!!! They never "found anything" and even questioned if I had maybe misplaced them. I will NEVER GO BACK THERE! And that is too bad. We have a brother that lives there and a large family always on the lookout for hotels/motels in the area.... our family WOULD have stayed there in the future. Not anymore! -Heidi, Dallas Oregon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank heidi0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This hotel is basically a good value for its oceanfront location. The rooms are nothing special, at least the queen we stayed in, you are paying for the sound of the waves right out your door. Allowing pets is a huge plus!

Downsides: Our bed was very saggy and squeaky, and I bet this place can get noisy in the summer. The lower rooms open up towards the beach, but most rooms share the little porch areas with another room and the doors are very close. Our neighbor was seated outside our window smoking and drinking, and there were beer bottles in front of our room door upon arriving.

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this place to a friend traveling with pets.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

This motel is located between Seaside and Newport, and just north of Tillamook. There is sooo much to do. The locals are all nice and make you feel very comfortable. The little town has a laid back atmosphere. It is located as close to the beach as you could get, and it's a small easy path to the water. The staff is really great. We had to change our plans 3 times, and they went out of their way to take care of our needs. The swimming pool is wonderful. The saltwater wasn't as strong as I was worried it would be. It was warm and really relaxing. Our skin felt so soft after swimming in it. The local business' have good sales, and good food. There's one tiny little shop that is open only for a few hours in the morning(maybe more during peak season). He has fresh oyster shooter's,and the best clam chowder we've ever tasted. We even picked up some on the way out of town,to bring home. We had rooms next to each other, that opened up on the same deck, right on the beach. There is on old school swingset, that we all used. We had a fire on the beach every night. We loved this place, it's also kid and dog friendly. We are planing on returning every year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearl008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

On the 3rd day of our vacation my son, husband & I pulled into the Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel and lo & behold I discovered it was the same place I stayed back in 1999 with a friend but didn't remember the name of; was I pleasantly surprised. Loved the location right on the beach!! It was roomy and comfortable but things closed rather early so we ate pizza that night (only place open). It is definitely to cold to go in the water or ever lay out on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepi4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
3.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
18.0 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 215 S Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9596
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Oceanfront on the Oregon coast. Everyroom has a beathtaking view of the beach and spectacular sunsets. The city center location makes it a wonderful choice to all that Rockaway Beach has to offer. Indoor year round salt water pool and kitchen units too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Oceanfront Hotel Rockaway Beach
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing