We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right price and Ocean front....Room just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Casper
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Right price and Ocean front....Room just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay and quickly as i was coming down with a migrane. Pulled in booked a room quickly. Ocean front cannot be beat. Rooms are VERY basic and need some updating....but I will say it was very CLEAN. Staff friendly. Price right.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ljmo1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    78
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
101
97
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Agua Dulce, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great location....steps from the Beach. Older motel...kinda tired looking but clean and adequate. We took a room with only one bed and no kitchen facilities...had a nice mini patio. Watching the sun set thru the clouds and listening to the crashing waves. Good value. Internet has poor coverage.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A peaceful and restful location beside the Ocean, the Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel is perfectly situated for those who treasure a beachfront adventure. The Silver Sands is found in the heart of Rockaway Beach, Oregon, and only a few steps from a Pacific Ocean beach that seems to stretch on forever and back again!
The motel is within an easy stroll to several restaurants, a grocery store, and a nice variety of interesting shops. A friendly front office staff is always helpful with any questions about Rockaway Beach, or assisting with any concerns. The motel is reasonably priced with clean rooms, and has a nice indoor swimming pool. The very best feature for the Silver Sands is the amazing beachfront location which will bring one back for multiple visits!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are most convenient for enjoying the expansive sandy Ocean front beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahawkscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a complete disappointment. The rooms are aging badly, with saggy and uncomfortable old mattresses. The tub didn't have a plug so we couldn't bathe our kids. At least the bathtub/toilet/sink area and frig in the kitchenette were clean, although the kitchenette was not well stocked. They only provided three towels when they knew there were four guests. It is never a good sign when the reception area reeks of cigarette smoke. The views are just okay-the rock formations are blocked by a fence, so cannot be seen from the hotel rooms on the main floor. The pool area was not worth using and the sauna broken. I cannot believe they get away with charging the rates they do for such an outdated, cheap motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDH154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The views are great, right on the ocean. Rooms are quiet considering how close it is to the ocean.

Outdated facility with old bathrooms. I didn't find the morning game of 'how not to get burnt in the shower' very appealing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cougs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Yorker
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We came upon this hotel on a dark and rainy night in the dark. Lights were on, so we stopped.
What a welcoming owner. He had availability and offered us to see the room before we committed. It was tastefully decorated and very clean and an updated bathroom. Nice! Because we were late getting in, we didn't really look around the building. Well, to our surprise the next morning we opened the door to find out we were right on the ocean. They had outdoor tables and a play area. The owner was especially helpful with directions and dining suggestions when we left. It was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
361 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice to wake up in the morning with the Pacific Ocean right outside your window and door. The beach is 50 ft. away. Awesome view! In a nice little beach community that is mighty sleepy this time of the year. Very little tourist traffic at the end of October. Nice room with refrigerator/freezer and microwave oven. Even has Real Cups for use with the coffeemaker. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. Friendly staff. Has indoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackfromGigHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
3.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 215 S Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9596
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Oceanfront on the Oregon coast. Everyroom has a beathtaking view of the beach and spectacular sunsets. The city center location makes it a wonderful choice to all that Rockaway Beach has to offer. Indoor year round salt water pool and kitchen units too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Oceanfront Hotel Rockaway Beach
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing