We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly, good location & clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly, good location & clean.”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We tried the Siver Sands due to their dog friendly policy and great beach location. The basic two room suites with a small kithenette all have a nice ocean view. The lower floor rooms have a door leading out to the beach directly, great for the dog. The kithchenette has a range, small icebox and sink. No oven. Some rooms have full size ice boxes and some those little 1/2 size ones with no freezer space. You need to ask if this matters to you. . The motel has a nice pool, spa and a sauna. All well kept and clean with pool towels provided. Staff is pleasant and helpful.

Rockaway has several small resturants, a grocery store, a couple of "antique" stores, ( all within walking distance) a pizza joint, and a liquor store at the south end of town. ( car required) The rest of the town is motels and beach cottages.

I tried to pry out of the maids which room was best and they couldn't decide so I figure they are pretty much all the same. There is daily maid service, a free newspaper each day and free coffee in the lobby. The dog cost $10.00 per night extra. Check in is 4 pm check out is 11 am. Total cost in April of 09 was $100 per night . ( room, tax and dog fee)

Motel is modest but comfortable. Let's face it- if they allow dogs this isn't the ritz!
I rate it Good to Very Good- based on location and value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    91
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
107
107
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oregon city, or
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Clean room ,no deadbolts on the doors
Right on the beach.
The bed was hard as a rock in our room 124, I can't speek for the others.
The couch was very uncomfortable & the chairs for the table leaned way back when you sat in them ( rocker type ) had to lean one of them against the couch because it leaned back so far
Management was very nice

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Good for access to, golfing, crabbing and long beach walks. We have never had any complaints about this hotel. It is funky and its the Oregon coast! Don't expect any more and you will be happy with your choice. Relax and listen to the waves breaking from your room at night and the stress goes away.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b8teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Or
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My wife, son and I stayed here in late February. The staff was very helpful, they let us look at the room before we decide to stay. We were very happy with it, but choose to look around the city a bit more, needless to say we came back and are very happy we did. The check in process was fast and efficient. The room was very clean and well maintained. The beds are comfy. We didn’t swim but others at the hotel seem to be having a good time at the pool, and I didn’t get knocked out by the smell of chemicals walking by it. The room is a little simple, but is far, FAR outshined by the view and location. If the hotel was any closer you would have to close the windows, so as not to get wet from the waves. It’s right on the beach! After about 15 yards of grass and dunes you’re on the beach! We left the windows open all night and fell asleep with the sound of the crashing waves.

We ate at “the Beach Bite” for dinner. A bit spendy for the quality but not bad at all, I’d go again. Checked out the obligatory shops like Flamingo Jims and burnt some money at the local arcade. We had a great time at the Silver Sands and will be back. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves the beach and wants a simple and very clean place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtiskendallcaileb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2008

My husband and I needed a getaway.Everything on the coast was booked.Stumbled upon The Silver Sands on the internet.I called them They were awesome.They had a room and when we got there we were able to check in early and everthing was wonderful They were so kind The room was great bed was super comfy.Room was very clean Beach Acess and view was awesome!!!!We will go back time and time again...

  • Liked — The friendly staff the clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MelbPortlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, OR
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We only stayed one night but will definitely return. I have to say I was a little wary at first because the windows were out and sitting against the wall when we checked in. We called the office and they immediately put them back in. Other than that the room was spiffy and clean, and the bathroom more spacious than most hotels. We had a non-kitchen 2 queen room on the second floor. The pool is heated and really relaxing after a long walk on the cool breezey beach. It is right on the ocean and there is an old but sturdy swingset. The good thing was n ot having to walk a long way to get onto the beach. Pets are allowed but our room did not seem to show any sign of previous pet visits. I wish there were more restaurants in the area, but the Tillamook dairy is not far away. GREAT kite-flying opportunity. We will definitely go back to this hotel again. It is not cushy, more like a Super 8, but definitely not shabby.

  • Liked — clean room and heated pool
  • Disliked — smell of cigarette smoke at check-in
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seah2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed at the Silver Sands for 2 nights on a beach getaway with our 2 dogs. The rooms were very clean and nice. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is literally right on the beach, and also within walking distance of several little restaurants and a store in Rockaway. The only downside is that the upstairs rooms have no balconies, but they do have big windows to catch the view and hear the roar of the surf. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and location!!!
  • Disliked — No balcony
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
3.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
18.0 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 215 S Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9596
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Oceanfront on the Oregon coast. Everyroom has a beathtaking view of the beach and spectacular sunsets. The city center location makes it a wonderful choice to all that Rockaway Beach has to offer. Indoor year round salt water pool and kitchen units too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Oceanfront Hotel Rockaway Beach
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing