We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful front desk, very large room, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Madras, OR
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Helpful front desk, very large room, clean”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived late and were greeted with a smile and very helpful Naina. She gave us a quieter room towards the back of the hotel (#205). There is street/traffic noise, but it isn't like being on the I-5. I like that the room offers a safe, fridge and good (password protected) wifi. There is an ample continental b'fast with decent coffee. The only reason I gave 4 stars (not 5) is that the pillows on the bed are too firm, too tall and didn't work for me. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: You will hear Steven's Blvd. from all rooms but those towards the back are perhaps a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    99
    41
    18
    1
See reviews for
66
95
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a nice motel and after staying at the Rodeway Inn before I had to find something else. The rooms were updated, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good and I appreciated the real dishes as opposed to plastic/paper everywhere else you go.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lamykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were fortunate to find this hotel on Trip Advisor. We were just passing through Roseburg and just wanted a place to get a good night's sleep. We were greeted by Monty, the manager, and he was very helpful and a real genuine individual. He gave us a restaurant recommendation and followed up to see if we liked it. Our mattress was comfortable and the pillows were the most comfortable we'd had on our one week trip and we stayed at some more expensive hotels by far. The outside of the hotel needs a bit of sprucing up...new paint or something....but the interior is a pleasant surprise. There was a table with 2 chairs, a flat screen t.v. with good reception, and a dresser for those staying longer and wanting to unpack. Breakfast was a real treat with a large array of English muffins, bagels and breads, peanut butter, cream cheese, hot and cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, half and half with coffee as well as flavored creamers, etc. I remarked to Monty that it was nice to be able to eat off of real plates and have my coffee in a ceramic mug instead of dining off styrofoam and paper plates. We would stay here again. Tip: If you want to use the in room safe, just call the office for the code to get it open and then you can set your own code.

Room Tip: Two story hotel. First floor room means no lugging your bags up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minic00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After having a horrible experience at a hotel the night before, this was a wonderful place! We called at the last minute and explained that we were a bit leery due to our previous night's experience. Monty was wonderful - told us to just finish our dinner and come on over and check it out. He gave us a room key to look at the room before we booked it. He even upgraded us to one with a kitchen (even though we really didn't need it) for no extra charge. The beds are very comfortable and the room was very clean. The outside of the buildings may be a bit dated, but quite frankly, that isn't high on my list of needs. The inside is what matters and this hotel met all of our needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonemadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean inside. Good linen, older hotel no question but amazing price. Book through hotel not central reservation. They wanted to charge us more than double what the hotel charged us, which was over priced for the hotel. Woke up night clerk who was very helpful and accommodating. Monty. He was very proud of his hotel and seemed disappointed we didn't stay and visit over breakfast. No bugs. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are cheap convenient drive ups. The rooms are clean but the outside of the building is dingy whichis a bit deceiving. It was dated but the bedding seemed newer and soft. The beds weren't awful and the service was fine. And you get a free continental b-fast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Nic0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 15 in Roseburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Roseburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#11 of 15 in Roseburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg
Address: 978 NE Stephens St, Roseburg, OR 97470-3172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roseburg
Roseburg Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing