We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Roseburg
Certificate of Excellence
ALBANY
1 review
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I travel to Roseburg once a month for work and the Windmill is my hotel of choice. Not only is it centrally located off of I-5 but the hotel staff is consistently welcoming and accommodating. I have also had to check in early multiple times and it has made my work trips that much easier for them to always accommodate that. The only improvement feedback I could give is that the lower rooms are a bit loud when someone walks around upstairs and rooms adjacent to the vending/ice machines are very noisy. I would also love to see different pastry items on the breakfast buffet, although the choices are amazing already! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    565
    173
    39
    14
See reviews for
681
411
114
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ISSAQUAH
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The best part about my stay were the employees - consistently cheerful, friendly, and helpful. The room was very nice, large and quiet (away from the freeway).

I recommend that you put prices in the AAA tour book - that's the only reason I haven't stayed here before. I always assume that "no price provided" means "really expensive", and you're actually quite reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When I was in a different job that required extensive travel, I stayed at the likes of Holiday Inn/HI Express, Hampton Inn, and Best Western in order to take advantage of their frequent guest programs. Now that I'm no longer in that line of work, I travel much less frequently, so racking up the points doesn't mean as much when I do have to travel. When I had to go to Roseburg, OR recently, I decided to try an independent hotel and booked a night at the Windmill Inn. At one time, it was part of a regional chain that has since dissolved, but is now going it alone. My room cost about $30 less than the comparable Holiday Inn Express and Best Westerns nearby, but the quality was just as good. I found the staff very gracious, both the night I arrived and when I departed the next morning.

My room had a queen size bed and was quite spacious. The bed seemed a bit soft, but there were lots of pillows and blankets, the latter coming in handy on a snowy December night. The bathroom had plenty of elbow room. A great touch was a special AC/USB outlet box on top of, one of the night stands... very handy for laptops and cell phone chargers, and something I hadn't seen until this visit! It definitely saved having to hunt for a wall outlet or unplugging lamps or clocks to power my electronic devices. WiFi is free and fast. Didn't bring a laptop? No sweat... you get tons of channels on the cable/satellite TV.

The continental breakfast was average; the only hot item I saw was the do-it-yourself waffle iron, but if you are looking for a more substantial breakfast, right next door is an Elmer's Restaurant (a regional family diner chain, similar to Denny's). There are plenty of fast food choices on either side of I-5 if you want something else, and there are several casual dining restaurants one exit north of Windmill Inn.

I didn't bring any swim trunks, which was just as well because the outdoor pool in the center courtyard wasn't open, but they have an indoor hot tub open year-round that I could have really used (the water appeared clear with steam rising--I've been to a lot of hot tubs that turned out to be "lukewarm tubs"--and the area well kept). I'll have to remember to bring a pair of trunks for my next visit.

If you don't need a heated-from-frozen omelet or frequent guest points, you'll save lots of money at Windmill Inn and won't be disappointed. It's a terrific buy in its price point/category.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJ_JBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindmillInnGM, Manager at Windmill Inn of Roseburg, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
MAJ_JBM

Thank you for taking the time to post such a through review on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The charging station you mentioned is a nice little feature we found at a trade show. I'd be surprised if you don't start seeing those in other hotels in the coming years.

I can't see the exact date you were here, but we have recently added biscuits and gravy to our offerings for breakfast. I hope you are able to come see us again soon to let us know what you think.

Thank you again for the review.

Allen Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Staff very good and friendly. Helpful. Bank of rooms on south side a bit noise due to freeway. Easy on and off from freeway. Very accommodating to pets. Elmer's diner next door. Perfect for overnight stay when traveling. Easy and comfortable.good price.
Only problem in room was showerhead needed replaced due to mineral deposits clogging some of the nozzles to spray sideways over the curtain and getting floor wet. They were too old and hard to flick out deposits as designed to do. I forgot to tell staff in morning,, but am sure they would fix I made aware.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILLOW CREEK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When I stayed there were not enough blankets on the bed to keep warm except turning the heat up which makes it uncomfortable. Luckily I was in a room with 2 beds so I was able to take the covers from the other bed and put on mine. That was enough for me to stay warm. Had my family been there with me it would have been much more miserable. If you are going to offer rooms then you should at least offer them with enough bedding. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG BEACH
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Perfect pitstop to break up a 19 hour drive and get some shut-eye. Breakfast was really good too because it included a bunch of healthy options I haven't experienced at other places (soy milk, low sodium tomato juice, locally sourced dairy, whole bread, etc...). I would say breakfast only, for a family of four, was worth close to $30 (compared to eating at a restaurant).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langlois, OR, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a nice motel in a great location for easy freeway off/on, nearby restaurants, shopping, and medical services. For pet lovers, this was a great choice. All in all we liked it, the only negatives were the bed was a bit firm, and the pillows way to fluffy... and we could hear noise from walking next floor up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseburg
0.2 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Roseburg
55 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
7.5 mi away
Wildlife Inn
Wildlife Inn
#1 of 2 in Winston
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Inn of Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Inn of Roseburg

Property: Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Address: 1450 NW Mulholland Dr, Roseburg, OR 97470-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Inn of Roseburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windmill Inn of Roseburg, situated in the heart of the Land of Umpqua, where we treat you like family. We have roots that run deep in our area, and we have perfected the art of combining affordability with strong service. That's why we have been named #1 on TripAdvisor among hotels in Roseburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windmill Inn of Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Inn Of Roseburg Hotel Roseburg
Windmill Hotel Roseburg
Roseburg Windmill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing