We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would highly recommend this B & B”
Review of C. H. Bailey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C. H. Bailey House
Ranked #1 of 7 Roseburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
RI - USA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We would highly recommend this B & B”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We recently had the absolute pleasure of staying at the C.H. Bailey B & B in Roseburg, Oregon. Although the owners (Jay & Sherry) were not home when we arrived, they left a note telling us to let ourselves in (!!) , check out our room, enjoy a glass of nice Oregon wine (or a soft drink), and basically, make ourselves at home.
Our room had a queen bed with esquisite bedding and a huge bathroom with top quality shampoo and creams. Plus some chocolates for a treat.
The entire home was beautifully decorated and immaculately well kept.
We took a tour of their spacious grounds - beautiful flower beds, chickens, vegetable garden, the mountains in the distance and multiple sitting areas. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We later met with Sherry and she let us know that she and Jay, and their children would be going out for awhile.. They were going to downtown Roseburg for their annual 'Graffiti' night - they would be driving their '48 vehicle in the parade.
She gave us a great recommendation for dinner (Dino's Restaurante Itialiano - excellent food) and we watched the parade from our dinner table. Great fun!
For breakfast Sherry made a healthy serving of overnight english muffin french toast accompanied with diced fresh strawberries and nectarines and organic Greek yogurt, and delicious coffee. We had our choice of where to eat (inside in their beautiful dining room, on the spacious front porch, or in the perenial garden).
We were delighted to stay with Sherry & Jay. And as we left, in addition to both complimenting and thanking Sherry, I mentioned how much we enjoyed the breakfast. Without hesitation, she immediately returned to the kitchen and returned with a copy of the receipe, and to our surprise, she gave us a container of fresh raspberries from her garden. When we returned home, we received a thank you note from Sherry ~ she was indeed a gracious hostess.
Also, even though all four bedrooms were occupied, the house was extremely quiet.
This was a wonderful B & B, in a rural setting, but only 5 miles to town - a great combination!
We travel often and can say with certainty---you will love C.H. Bailey House.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybRIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
WOW! What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write one and one so detailed. We really do appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is guests like you that make this job so enjoyable and rewarding. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was by far our favorite bed and breakfast on the trip. The proprieters pay attention to every detail. The location is strange...it is very far out in the country. However, this adds to the scenery, which would never be possible in town. The grounds are beautiful...old barns, pretty gardens, a hot tub, an antique car, and even an old outhouse. The home is very beautiful. We stayed in the Melton Room, which was very neat because it had a sun room to sit in. Guests can stay in the living room. There, there is coffee and red wine. Upstairs is a guest refrigerator with white wine, colas, water, and ice cream bars. I also noticed coffee and biscotti there the next morning. In the room there were tiny packages of candy. The beds were comfortable. We opened all the windows in the sunroom at night and needed no air. Breakfast was delicious. First, there was coffee, tea, and a variety of juices. Then, there were fresh raspberries straight from the garden. Then there were divine lemon ginger muffins, warm from the oven. The main entree was something I want to try myself...sour dough bread with olive oil and freshrosemary, proscuttio, and a poached egg. The owner made a special meal for my little boy, knowing that he would not eat anything fancy. They recommend great restaurants as well. Plus, she gave me directions to our next destination and wrote them down for me. so nice...we loved it. Don't forget the wineries. The proprieter serves local wines and gives you info on the local wineries. We liked Abacela, a relatively new one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixieland2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for your terrific review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write one, and sure do appreciate the details. Thank you! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Beautiful old home in great condition with a wonderful, serene surrounding. You just can't replace the beauty of the hills, the trees, the pastures and old farm houses. The sitting room in the Melton Room is surrounded by views and filled with peacefulness. You will find the total package at this B&B. My wife and I love it. Perfect host and hostess, friendly and offer the best of service and their breakfasts are a perfect way to start the day. If you are looking for a bit of nostalgia and peace while on the road, this IS the place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you. You are so kind to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the C.H. Bailey House while attending a friend's wedding. This place was fantastic! It was my husband and my first B&B experience and we had a wonderful time. Sherry truly offers fantastic hospitality. The accommodations were awesome, everything was clean and the breakfasts were gourmet every morning. She offers deliciously creative egg dishes, organic berries from her garden and yummy baked goods from her kitchen.

The room was beautiful and bright. The sheets were nice and soft and the water was always hot. We stayed in the Umpqua room and enjoyed the views from the sitting room. Extra little goodies were waiting for us which always adds to the missed comfort from a typical hotel.

I would love to stay here if we go back to OR. It is tucked away in the countryside, but still offers the technological necessities of today's world. You get the best of both worlds, peace, relaxation and the connectivity required. Don't miss this gem, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband surprised me with a winery weekend and booked us into the CH Bailey House. What a coup for him! Our stay was relaxing, comfortable and very special. This old farmhouse has been very well kept with respect toward it's history. Our room was light and spacious with views onto the hills and farm fields. I loved the bed, extremely comfortable and well-appointed. From its buccolic setting to the gorgeous English country garden grounds this property is a destination.
Breakfast was elegantly served in the garden with grace and style. My eggs were perfectly poached and set atop a wonderful crusty bread and delicious sauce.
The proprietors were helpful but unintrusive.
I had a wonderful time and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you so much!!!! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here over Mother's Day weekend. We were visiting family in the area and treated my mom and family to breakfast in the dining room Sunday morning. Everyone agreed that the food was excellent -- we had fresh berries with yogurt and mint followed by rosemary toast with poached egg, prosciutto and arugula. The dining room is quaint and impeccable, as was the rest of the property. Loved the big porch with swing and rustic red farmhouse out back.

Our stay was very comfortable and all the details were perfect, from the complimentary wines and bottled water in the hall to the fresh roses, chocolates and biscotti in the room. The owner brings hot coffee to your door in the morning. The B&B is located in the country so it's very quiet and peaceful. We were the only guests that weekend but I would imagine it would be a little noisier otherwise as the guest rooms are all situated together on the second floor. It is a great place to rent out for a wedding party or small family reunion...we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review. We really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I would highly recommend the Bailey house to anyone staying in the region. Great breakfast, very helpful family, and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkwinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We sure do appreciate you taking the time to write something about our B&B and especially appreciate it since it was so complimentary. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseburg
7.3 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
7.5 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
8.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Roseburg
55 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C. H. Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C. H. Bailey House

Property: C. H. Bailey House
Address: 121 Melton Rd, Roseburg, OR 97470-8443
Region: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "green" country lodging. You will enjoy a lovely, private bungalow - a home away from home - along with complimentary local wine and beer and a welcome basket which includes breakfast. We get a majority of our electricity from the sun, we recycle, compost, use earth-friendly cleaning products, use shampoo/condition dispensers in the showers, use local and organic products when possible and garden sustainably. We have twin bocce courts, an 8-hole disc golf course, horseshoe pits and a hot tub to finish off the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing