We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still day dream about our stay”
Review of C. H. Bailey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C. H. Bailey House
Ranked #1 of 7 Roseburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Livonia, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I still day dream about our stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My mom and I stayed in the Melton room for one night on our way fom Crater Lake NP to the Oregon coast. I wish we had been able to stay longer. It was such a nice retreat after a smokey couple of days @ Crater Lake.

Our room was clean, comfy and in a great loction in the corner of the upper floor. It afforded us some wonderful views of the surrounding countryside which was beautiful. Complimentary beverages were just outside room, as well as wine and cookies in the breakfast room on the first floor.

Sherry was the consumate host and we felt that her niceness was genuine. We signed up for the breakfast time of our choice on the blackboard upstairs and headed down in the morning. What a truly gourmet breakfast with wonderful flavor. After a walk around the serene grounds, we were on our way having been so greatful to have had the opportunity to meet Sharry and the furry critters.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We love the title! We hope you can return. Cheers to you and your mom. Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This old house built in1908 has a new life as a B & B....And what a life! Owners Jay and Sherry have transformed four bedrooms into beautifully appointed guest rooms, each complete with a private bath. Sherry serves a delicious breakfast each morning at your desired time. There is complimentary wine and other beverages, as well as cookies. This is the perfect place to stay when wine tasting or hiking in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. Cheers! Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was our last couple night before returning home after a long trip. We were so happy to spend it here. The owners are very welcoming. The home is beautifully taken care of. You are pampered by total experience! Wine each night, perfectly delicious breakfast each morning - and they are versed in gluten free protocol as well. The bed was so comfortable we actually slept! You sign up for the breakfast time you want so there aren't any worries about sleeping in and missing anything. The grounds were beautiful even after a long warm summer. It was still as lush as a spring garden. There is a hot tub, so bring your suit.

There are many things to do in the area, we will be going back. This time we went to the Wild Safari. No kids and we had a blast!

They did have a great wifi connection too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MChanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Wonderful room, excellent breakfast, great views all around the property - good for taking walks and for pictures. Beautiful area. Wish we could have stayed for more days. Relaxing to sit on the front porch overlooking the cows grazing in the fields.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

All around excellent: attention to detail in historic rooms and throughout the B&B; fresh, delicious and very tasty breakfast; attentive and lovely service; wonderful location and grounds; loved the little extras in the morning, complimentary wine and cookies; just a great place to stay .. And return to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you, Bettina and Jeff, for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and definitely look forward to your return. Cheers! Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal Kent UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Of all the many wonderful B & B's we stayed in during our 3 week West Coast trip, this was the best! Coming from the UK, we appreciated Sherry's welcome with a lovely cup of tea !
Complimentary wine was offered, and a tray of tea was awaiting us when we awoke the next morning. We had the Umpqua Room which was very comfortable - we enjoyed the sitting area.
Sherry recommended a great little restaurant in Roseburg for our evening meal. Breakfast the next day was awesome - refreshing fruit starter, followed by a wonderful souffle !
We were privileged to look round Sherry's beatiful garden with her before we left.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlybirdUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review. We enjoyed having you both here too and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As a daughter of two Brits, I know how nice it is to stay somewhere that makes "a good cup'a' tea." Cheers to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have been to this B & B too many times now to count and each time it's better than the time before. This is a destination location.....the only reason you need to go to Roseburg is because of the C.H. Bailey House & Sherry and Jay! Comfort, Food, Hospitatily, Peacefulness, Fun......Stay here the entire time, go to wineries or for a drive....I can't wait to return.....The parlor, the front porch, the grounds, the gardens, the smoking shed, the barn.....it is all AWESOME! Thank you Sherry & Jay for another wonderful experience! We just love you! Lisa and Brad

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you, Brad and Lisa. We so enjoy having you here and are so glad you take advantage of all the places we have set out for our guests. It is our treat to host you as much as your treat to stay here. Also, thank you so much for encouraging other B&B owners to try us. Cheers and hugs to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
7.5 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
8.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Roseburg
55 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#11 of 16 in Roseburg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C. H. Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C. H. Bailey House

Property: C. H. Bailey House
Address: 121 Melton Rd, Roseburg, OR 97470-8443
Region: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "green" country lodging. You will enjoy a lovely, private bungalow - a home away from home - along with complimentary local wine and beer and a welcome basket which includes breakfast. We get a majority of our electricity from the sun, we recycle, compost, use earth-friendly cleaning products, use shampoo/condition dispensers in the showers, use local and organic products when possible and garden sustainably. We have twin bocce courts, an 8-hole disc golf course, horseshoe pits and a hot tub to finish off the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing