We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T MISS IT!!!”
Review of C. H. Bailey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C. H. Bailey House
Ranked #1 of 7 Roseburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The CH Bailey HOuse Bed and Breakfast is situated in the idyllic, peaceful, rolling farmlands of Oregon, about 10 miles from Roseburg off the I-5. It is far removed from Roseburg yet still close enough if guests wish to drive in to the city for an evening meal.

The old house has been perfectly restored with every attention to craftsman detail. It is tasteful, comfortable and cozy without being overly done. The grounds are extensive with surrounding yard, lawns and garden expertly manicured. There are swatches of farmland that welcome a wander. Plenty of space for privacy and respite from the hum of city life and fast pace of I-5. The countryside and wide open spaces offer respite and a special ambiance seldom captured on a fast trip through Oregon.

The main salon is furnished with comfortable sofas and chairs, large enough to suit the number of guests and is complete with fireplace. The breakfast room is also located next to the main salon with large windows and subtle, tastefuly decor fitting the age and architecture of the house.

Four bedrooms, each with ensuite bath are located on the second floor. All are priced the same and each equally lovely and cared for with comfy furnishings that make a welcoming atmosphere at the end of a long day. Baths are clean, white,and bright . Fluffy towels and soft bed linens are no surprise in this well-tended BandB. Two rooms have private porches that face the surrounding farmlands.

The young owner couple deserve kudos for their hard work and taste, the special kind of care they have put into their home is evident everywhere and exceptional (especially for price). Their welcome offers just the right balance of friendliness+service yet allows guests quiet and privacy.

Sherry and her husband are "foodies" as evidenced by Sherry's carefully prepared breakfast. Ours included fresh farm raised poached eggs on toated ciabatta with prosciutto, topped with Sherry's garden raised tomatoes and a sprig of basil accompanied by a muffin, juice and coffee or tea.

A lovely extra is extended to guests... complimentary white and red wines from the region (as well as soft drinks) Sherry's introduction to local wines tempt guests to visit regional caves (especially as the Oregon wine business grows and increasingly improves its offerings (the pinot gris was exceptional while the red nothing special).

There is only one small blemish for us coffee lovers from Seattle. Soon we imagine Sherry will offer a superb cup of java or expresso, but it is the ONLY thing missing in an otherwise remarkable home.

This Band B should not be missed. Soon it will be "discovered" and returning guests will surely make it difficult to capture reservations in one of the 4 available rooms.

Dogs are accepted and it is a haven for 4 legged critters as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmonsparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

The old farmhouse is indeed a charmer, as are the grounds with several areas to relax and take in the scenery. I won't try to repeat what everyone else has said about the decor, the complimentary wine and the wonderful front porch because they are very nicely appointed. I slept wonderfully, everything was clean and neat and new, etc.

But what surprised me about this B&B was the cold reception we received from the proprietors. Aside from a five-minute introduction and being shown to our rooms, they were difficult to locate and made no effort to make us feel welcome. We would have loved to hear the history of the farm and house, to meet the dogs, to peek at the vintage car in the barn, or at least to admire the large kitchen garden. But no, our contact was limited to 'Hello, here are your rooms' followed the next morning by stiff service at breakfast and immediate presentation of the bill.

As for breakfast, it was very nice except for the coffee, which was terrible. "If this is tea, bring me coffee, if this is coffee, bring me tea", we quoted to each other.

The refrigerator of complimentary wine, soft drinks, and water ran out while we were there - nobody checked its levels and I was not able to find our hosts to get assistance.

I would not stay here again because I didn't feel welcome. I actually wondered if we had somehow insulted them!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

CHB House is a wonderfully updated, historic home. It has traditional charm with updated amenities. The hostess was very gracious, and made us a very nice breakfast. While we did not take advantage of all its offerings, it was truly a rare treat in an area with few. The complimentary wines, water, sweets were added treats.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I've stayed in lots of B&Bs and this one may just top the list. It is quietly elegant, furnished with lovely antiques, but without any fussiness. The beds were extremely comfortable; the breakfast delicious and made with local, if not homegrown, ingredients. We enjoyed ours outside on a lovely patio surrounded by a lush cottage garden. Some of the rooms enjoy what seem to be former sleeping porches that have been converted into spacious sitting areas with views to the north, west and east. What a way to greet the dawn or bid farewell to the sun!
As we did not stay in one of those rooms, we enjoyed the sitting areas in the living room and on the front porch. Very, very lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloiseridesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Making resevation by phone was quick, easy and informative. Sherry was very polite and helpful. Printed the map from their website and drove right to it. Beautiful countryside setting nestled amid rolling green hills, and the house is an immaculately redone old 2-story farmhouse with large sitting area on front porch. Old feel, but new hardware in bathrooms and satellite tv. Complimentary beer and white wine, and self serve coffee at 7 a.m.. Sherry made an outstanding breakfast and was a perfect hostess. We sat and read their marvelous coffee table books in the comfortable living room after breakfast. This is my favorite B&B now.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husband and I drove from Requa, CA (Redwood National Park) to Crater Lake for the day and headed back west to stop overnight in Roseburg, OR on our way up to Portland. The farm house is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are charming, very tastefully decorated. We were offered a choice of 2 rooms and chose the Blue, which has a great little sitting area with 2 walls of windows over looking pastures.
The host are generous with a choice of red & white wine available for you. In the morning they prepare a small tray of coffee & a snack to keep you until breakfast is ready.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Our one night stay at C.H. Bailey House was at the end of a week's trip that consisted of 3 other hotel changes, several 14 hour work days working an art fair, and enduring the worst heat wave the Pacific Northwest had ever experienced. I was taking a gamble booking the inn for our last night's stay on our journey home as you never quite know for sure with a B&B if all will be as described. We've stayed in every type of luxury hotel and inn on the west coast and ferreting out the great ones is not easy. In this case, our expectations were not only met they were surpassed at every turn. We arrived in the evening and it was still 108 degrees outside. As promised we were met by the pups as we took in the beautiful scenery. My biggest fear was allayed when we stepped inside and the entire house was set at a comfortable and cool 68 degrees...we were so grateful! Jay took us to the Bailey room which was perfectly made up to accommodate us and our daughter. The room is beautifully decorated in calm soothing colors and rich fabrics. Large enough for the 3 of us, it also included a desk and wireless internet access - a must. The flat screen tv mounted on the wall was a plus. Chocolate truffles were waiting for us. The bathroom was large and pretty with a newly installed clawfoot tub with rain shower.
Outside our room, a refrigerator for the guests held drinks and white wine. In the morning, coffee and biscotti are served there before breakfast.
Jay gave us a tour of the property and the barn - where there are games and at times a keg to be tapped. A classic car, a gift from a friend, now used for weddings at the inn is a must see. Sherry was busy watering her organic garden in back and feeding the chickens. There is such a sense of calm around the whole property and its bucolic setting that its hard to imagine just how hard they had to have worked to bring this all together. Jay and Sherry, who live on the property as well, have created an experience that they would want to have as travelers and incorporated their ideas down to the finest detail.
After a wonderful night's sleep in the exquisitely comfortable beds, we played with the dogs and met for breakfast, delicious blueberry pancakes and sausage. If we had one minor suggestion it would be to strengthen the coffee. Its that one last detail. If we had asked for a new pot of double strength though, I'm sure Sherry would have given it to us.
We plan on returning often.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
7.5 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Roseburg
60 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
123 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Roseburg Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C. H. Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C. H. Bailey House

Address: 121 Melton Rd, Roseburg, OR 97470-8443
Region: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Roseburg
Price Range: £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "green" country lodging. You will enjoy a lovely, private bungalow - a home away from home - along with complimentary local wine and beer and a welcome basket which includes breakfast. We get a majority of our electricity from the sun, we recycle, compost, use earth-friendly cleaning products, use shampoo/condition dispensers in the showers, use local and organic products when possible and garden sustainably. We have twin bocce courts, an 8-hole disc golf course, horseshoe pits and a hot tub to finish off the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing