We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Not a good place to stay! The walls are paper thin, they say there is WIFI but 7 rooms down from the lobby we could not get it, the tub had several chips in it, and the pillows felt like they were full of newspapers with a sheet over it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    98
    40
    23
    10
See reviews for
86
50
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

There were good things about this hotel and a few poor things. First the good. Friendly staff members and a good complimentary morning breakfast. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Now the not so good. There were an excessive amount of cigarette butts outside the hotel entrance. When I say excessive....I mean a lot of cigarette butts. Not the first impression you want to give guests as the enter the lobby doors. It was embarrassing walking in with my kids. The room itself was large, but dated. Could use some updating. The shampoo dispenser in the shower did not dispense the shampoo. Bathroom had visible holes where screws had been at one time. A little bit of mildew behind the toilet on the wall.

My biggest complaint pertains to the pool/sauna. We arrived on Saturday and the pool/sauna was closed still when we left on Monday afternoon. We were told a child had an "Accident" on Friday. The front desk kept telling us that they hoped it would be "Ready" each day, but we never saw an employee in the pool area doing anything. Also, because a locked door led to the pool area and the workout room....you couldn't access the workout room due to pool being closed. It was pretty disappointing...especially when travelling with a young child.

Overall, staff were nice and food was good. There were also some problems. It's worth it if you can get a deal under $60.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibbersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Staff were very nice, we requested a different room when we went in the room and the view was the tar roof. We ended up on the 4th floor and although all rooms had signs that said non smoking it was heavy with cig smell and smoke, ended up putting a towel under the door space and opened the window to make it through the night, although it really didn't matter as people were running the halls and going in and out all night - wont make the mistake of staying here again, the photos were misleading.
Dawn was a wonderful host aside from all the things that she had no control over :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilRahyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The room was very nice and the price was more than reasonable for the room, bed, and breakfast that they offer. I would stay again in this motel. I feel the reviews helped me to choose wisely. Thank you


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel has a wonderful, friendly staff at 2 am or 6:30 am they were there ready to help with a smile. Very comfortable beds too. It could use some updating on the interior decor, but it was clean and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coryannder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I been in this Hotel Before and it is OK but this time they accommodate me in a lower level.The hallway at Night looks like the Movie "The Shinning"and the window is facing some kind of stone patio very scary.The showers provided poor water pressure, and the nozzles on the showers were old. You had to hold the shower nozzle to make the water spray on you. The breakfast was very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bran H, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Simon,

I am sorry to hear about your stay with us. As i'm sure you can attest to, this is not a usual experience that our guests have at our hotel. We have already addressed the flow issue in your previous room, as well as replace the shower head. We have been in the process of replacing a number of them over the past couple weeks, a project that is now complete. I believe that regardless of what hotel a person stays at, coming in late in the evening when it is very quiet can bring about some moments reminiscent of the Overlook Hotel in The Shining. We hope that you will give us a chance to show you the true Phoenix Inn experience all over again. Thanks again for providing us feedback so we can continue improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last few years and have always had a good experience. This time I must have been distracted (I'd like to blame my husband but really can't) and didn't do my usual one last look around the room. I left the watch that I had just purchased and a face cleansing appliance. To replace the two items would have cost me at least $300, but I called the front desk when I remembered them, we were 100 miles down the road by then. They hadn't cleaned our room yet but said they would send them to me. The front desk clerk took my credit card info for postage.
When I got home from our trip a week later I really didn't expect to see my items but there they were. Thank you so much Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
795 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Address: 4370 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel South Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing