We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken over ... no longer Phoenix brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Salem
British Columbia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Taken over ... no longer Phoenix brand”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Used to love this place but noticed in Dec that it wasn't a Phoenix anymore and it seemed to have some maintenance issues. Stayed here again in late March and now it is slowly coming back. No more breakfasts (they have a $10 meal but not worth trying) and they advertise Italian coffee but make it with those little cups of instant. What I do still like is the room layouts (lots of space) the fact that my dog is welcome and they are always pleasant at the front desk. The rooms still need work but ours was in moderately good repair and definitely seemed clean. There's a lot of great competition here so I think they'll need to keep working on upgrading.

Room Tip: I always choose facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bran H, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback on our hotel. It is true we were purchased by a new company, but we are still part of the Phoenix Inn brand. VIPS Inc, who was the company that built this hotel, and all other Phoenix Inns, has purchased our hotel along with the ones in Albany, Eugene and Lake Oswego. We will all keep the same name, but you will notice a great number of changes coming in the next year. Part of their commitment when buying the hotels was to have them completely remodeled by the first quarter of 2015. What that means for your next visit will be brand new carpet, bedding and furniture in the rooms as well as some updates to our breakfast and work out facilities. We hope you will be back to see the coming changes very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    101
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
90
52
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very disappointed. Hotel and rooms were dingy and felt dirty. Bathrooms were not cleaned well including urine on the back of the toilet and we had a very noisy spot in our floor. Walls are paper thin and we were kept up by the guest next to us. We had asked for and end room for this very reason as we were traveling with a little one who needed sleep, but were given a room right in the middle of a hallway! Pool and spa were closed, one of the main reasons we chose this facility. Staff was ok, but not really personable, we were just another customer. I would not stay or recommend.

Room Tip: Walls are thin no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherlin,OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Heavy snow caused us to pull over in Salem and get a room for the night. Came across this hotel and just took our chances. People were great, room nice with microwave, couch, refrigerator, coffee pot, flat screen tv, double vanity separate from the bathroom. Also had great continental breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cablemanSutherlin_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel a year and a half ago with no issues. We were visiting Salem again so we thought we would try it again. Sorry we did. Since that time, the hotel went straight down hill. When we first arrived, the beds in our room were slanted head down. Then, we look up and notice the wall paper was coming off. My husband went to the desk. The lady behind the desk was amazing. Very polite. She let us change rooms after patiently taking us to 2 rooms until we found flat beds. Later that evening we noticed the cobwebs all over the room up in the corners. Then, when we woke up, we noticed ants on our bathroom counter. Again, that evening, the same girl from the night before put us in another room. She (Ashley) was the only reason this review got 2 stars. She was so patient and I truly felt she cared. Kudos to her and her good customer service. We were among quite a few others that were upset. We were told by someone there that the hotel has new owners taking over so let's hope they are going to make some changes. If the new owners can make the hotel as wonderful as Ashley ' s customer service, it will be a great place. Until then, stay away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Not a good place to stay! The walls are paper thin, they say there is WIFI but 7 rooms down from the lobby we could not get it, the tub had several chips in it, and the pillows felt like they were full of newspapers with a sheet over it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

There were good things about this hotel and a few poor things. First the good. Friendly staff members and a good complimentary morning breakfast. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Now the not so good. There were an excessive amount of cigarette butts outside the hotel entrance. When I say excessive....I mean a lot of cigarette butts. Not the first impression you want to give guests as the enter the lobby doors. It was embarrassing walking in with my kids. The room itself was large, but dated. Could use some updating. The shampoo dispenser in the shower did not dispense the shampoo. Bathroom had visible holes where screws had been at one time. A little bit of mildew behind the toilet on the wall.

My biggest complaint pertains to the pool/sauna. We arrived on Saturday and the pool/sauna was closed still when we left on Monday afternoon. We were told a child had an "Accident" on Friday. The front desk kept telling us that they hoped it would be "Ready" each day, but we never saw an employee in the pool area doing anything. Also, because a locked door led to the pool area and the workout room....you couldn't access the workout room due to pool being closed. It was pretty disappointing...especially when travelling with a young child.

Overall, staff were nice and food was good. There were also some problems. It's worth it if you can get a deal under $60.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibbersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Staff were very nice, we requested a different room when we went in the room and the view was the tar roof. We ended up on the 4th floor and although all rooms had signs that said non smoking it was heavy with cig smell and smoke, ended up putting a towel under the door space and opened the window to make it through the night, although it really didn't matter as people were running the halls and going in and out all night - wont make the mistake of staying here again, the photos were misleading.
Dawn was a wonderful host aside from all the things that she had no control over :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilRahyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
4.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
7.0 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Address: 4370 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302-3914
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel South Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing