We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an under-rated town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an under-rated town.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

First, I think Salem is very under-rated as a tourist destination. It is a very nice little town with a lot to do if you take the time to look.

The hotel is really nice. It is right next to I-5 interstate so fairly easy to locate. The front desk staff if very nice. I was checked in quickly, given 2 delicious cookies, and I went to my room. I needed a sewing kit and I called the front desk to see if they had any (some hotels no longer carry them) and I grabbed my keys and put on my shoes to go down and get it, just as I got to the elevator it opened and there was the nice woman from the front desk with a sewing kit! I couldn't believe it! That was above and beyond in my book.

The room was clean except for some small details. Also, a few power sockets looked questionable. Very strange because the rest of the hotel looked brand new. My room was huge. Very large sink area with a mini fridge next to it, and a large sitting area with a couch and a desk. There was a wall divider then a king size bed. It was VERY comfortable and the pillows were amazing as well. My room was facing the interstate. I could hear it a little bit, and I am a light sleeper, but I had no issues falling/staying asleep. The internet is free and very fast. Which is usually not the case. The hotel was completely booked that night as well. So that's great the internet was still fast.

I went to the pool. I was surprised at the size. Very small. The hotel is quite large, and the workout room was VERY nice and sizable, and then the pool and hot tub are tiny. The hot tub could comfortably fit maybe 4 people? I was the only one there so it wasn't an issue, but with how nice everything else was in the hotel the pool was a bit disappointing.

I showered after the pool and the shower head was great. I like when the spray can be adjusted. The bathroom (toilet and shower) are separate from the sink. I like this feature in a hotel, especially when there are more than one in the traveling party. The bathroom itself is a slight letdown though. It doesn't look like it belongs in the same beautiful room.

After the shower I went out to my car to grab a few things I didn't bring up the first time. It was 11PM by this time and I did not see any questionable people or the strip club that is being talked about. I stayed on a Thursday night. So maybe it's closed some nights? I had no issues with the area. I did leave a lot of things in my car and I did not feel uncomfortable doing so.

Breakfast in the morning is $5 all you can eat. I guess a free continental breakfast is no longer provided so if you want to eat you pay $5 to "upgrade". The $5 got you the typical continental fare, but also hot waffles, bacon, eggs, lots of fresh fruit. It was worth it. If I went to McDonald's across the street my iced coffee, egg mcmuffin, hashbrown, and fruit slices would have been $6ish. This was miles better. Hampton Inn has a similar breakfast but free with your stay. Not sure why they don't just charge $5 more for a room.

Overall I had a great stay, and I would stay here again. Salem is a nice town. The capitol building is beautiful. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side will be quieter. (Odd numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumann84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    127
    70
    27
    11
See reviews for
122
76
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great hotel that takes pets. Great location off I-5. Surprise, you will be charged $5 for a drab continental breakfast in an age when comparable hotels include. Rooms are nice with a sitting area and wood tile floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, WA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms are quiet, modern and clean. Within walking distance to good restaurants. I was attending for business. This was my first time at this location. I will happily stay here again on future business trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, OR, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Nice facility, great location. Hilton Honors membership benefits not what they used to be. Breakfast buffet was absolutely FORGETTABLE! In fact, I wish I could. Frozen English Muffin, still-frozen scrambled egg thingy. Save your money and time. Walk across the street to McDonalds for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. The pool was nice and clean, the rooms clean and fresh. The staff was great! Very helpful and went above and beyond even when we had a simple question. The "Business Center" is not the best equipped, but the front desk staff was able to scan and email me the documents I needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Roarke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

For those who have children, be advised this hotel is next to a busy strip club. There also seemed to be a lot of transient/homeless hanging around the nearby intersections. The hotel itself was fine and we didn't have any issues during my stay. But, the location just isn't someplace I would ever take my family again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
7 Thank Dwaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The sheets were dirty & never changed (even after staff was informed of the dirty sheets 3 times) son found dirty sock in the bed the 1st night...GROSS! trash under the beds They charge $5/person for a breakfast that I could have gotten at mcdonalds

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
869 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Address: 1590 Weston Court NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing