We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I made reservations at the Double Tree for my grandkids and asked if the pool was under maintnenace or working. When my daughter checked in, she was informed that the heater went out before Christmas. Staff should of been honest about working condition of the pool at the time I made the reservation. My grandkids were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Felicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that the pool wasn't in operation for your grandkids to use. I understand what a dissapointment that was. I believe we've been trying to contact each other to discuss your stay. I hope to connect with you soon, and have the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This Double Tree was not too long ago a Phoenix Inn. The renovations are around 6 months old. during my stay, the toilet lid was cracked, the was a chip in the shower, and the caulking seemed to be coming undone. Perhaps I am being too picky but if you just renovated this hotel, it should be next to perfect. Also, the pool was out of order during my weeks stay. They also said I was one of the only guests in the hotel for the week. This was my first Double Tree so maybe they aren't all like this. I do a lot of travel for work and I don't think I will be staying at this one a second time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

First of all thank you for submitting your review, though I do apologize for that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and obviously that wasn't your experience. We are working on the maintenance issues you had and appreciate these things being brought to our attention. It was unfortunate that the pool heater broke during the holiday, but rest assured that is a high priority to fix. I do hope we will have another opportunity to make this right for you and show you how exceptional our property and staff are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

food was very poor. i mean really. website did not mention the $10 per person, $20/couple. the eggs were bizarre, the bacon the cheapest possible, the rest standard for the "free" continental breakfast at the HI Express. Hilton is making a poor choice here, maybe what their new stockholders expect though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is invaluable and allows us to make a better experience for our guests. I do apologize for the issues you had with our PressNW cafe. We strive for excellent customer service and to give each guest a great experience and obviously that wasn't true for your stay. If there is anything we may do to improve on your last visit, please let us know. I do hope to get another opportunity to "wow" you with our hotel and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is easy to locate off the I-5 hwy with ample parking. A nice lobby and pleasant staff greeted me with a warm cookie. I was checked in very efficiently and had a very nice room. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. I had my two small dogs with me, and they were welcomed as well. I will definitely stay here again when I am travelling through the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angelika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit with us! I always appreciate guest comments, as that is the only way we can improve our hotel and service. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being able to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was my first visit since this hotel changed over to become a DoubleTree. Wow! It's got a sophisticated, contemporary style that still feels cozy ... and clean! I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you Mary for your wonderful review. It is always nice to hear when some one has a great stay. I always pass these on to the staff and they will be happy to hear that their contributions are appreciated. We hope to see you in the new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

All the hotel need is to have breakfast included. Nice, comfortable, yummy cookies, clean, nice staff. It is a little price, but you know is going to be quality. I will stay again. I have been in other Double Tree Hotels and have the same feedback. Good luck!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sarimin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is always nice to hear from happy guests and your comments just give us an opportunity to do better for your next stay. I will definitely pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff members. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay. Very clean hotel, comfortable bed (plush down quilt and pillows were a nice touch) and a very friendly staff. Tasty warm cookies! Everything was good except for a dripping bathroom faucet and understaffed breakfast area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
929 reviews
4.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Address: 1590 Weston Ct NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £105 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing