We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel between Noisy freeway & busy street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Hotel between Noisy freeway & busy street”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked the only type of rooms available of a 2 Queen Beds room for 2 nights at $219 plus tax with breakfast. Asked for a quiet location and got Room 320 by the loud and busy freeway. Came back down to Front Desk ladies who were very helpful and got us Room 203 across the street from a McDonald's and not nearly as noisy as the freeway. Room 203 is clean and nicely furnished with two comfortable queen beds, a double size sofa, microwave, refrigerator. Staff members are helpful in providing good services.

Areas need improvements: We paid $10 per day for breakfast for two, but the breakfast quality is not nearly as good as the free hot breakfast at the Embassy Suite Portland. The ice maker is out of work. The bathroom exhaust fan doesn't work. The windows should be more sound proof due to the noisy location.

Room Tip: Freeway facing rooms are noisier then street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Salem DoubleTree by Hilton. Although there were aspects of our hotel you enjoyed, I apologize that not everything was up to standard. Guest feedback is the best way for us to move forward with improvements, and your review is certainly helpful to get those changes made. I hope we get a chance to host you again in the future so we can improve your impression of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    127
    69
    27
    8
See reviews for
118
74
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here while we attended a wedding in Salem. We had a large family group and the staff did a wonderful job of making us feel right at home. Very friendly staff, comfy room and bed. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We strive to make everyone's stay excellent and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed yours. I hope the wedding went well and look forward to being able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in a great location in Eugene. The staff is friendly, and the breakfast is diverse and healthy choices are available. The rooms are nice and quiet. I will say the beds are a bit more firm than I am comfortable with, but that is a minor complaint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Discerning2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The property has been newly renovated and very nice. The parking is a bit cramped at times but I survived. It's very close to I5 and restaurants. There is 1 breakfast staffer that seems very nice to men but has issues with women guests. Don't know why.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from I5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and always appreciate the invaluable comments and concerns. I will follow up with our breakfast staff, as the goal is always to make every guest's stay the best. We hope to see you next time you are in the Salem area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we had a choice of hilton hotels and chose this one. it was good location near the highway and close to the outlet mall further north. the bed was the most comfy bed we slept in the whole week in oregon! the staff were very friendly, particularly the bartender. friendly staff, and lovely big rooms were a welcome change from other hotels we had stayed in that week. thanks. free wifi too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkminkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We appreciate your positive review of our DoubleTree by Hilton Salem, Oregon hotel! We work hard to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests and the beds are certainly a big part of that. Great service is something else we strive for and I'm glad you found that too. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

New to Salem Oregon , the Double Tree by Hilton has recently taken over a competing brand and remodeled the hotel from top to bottom. This is nice and appreciated by those of us who travel on a weekly basis , but the real highlight and gem in the hotels crown is the staff. Salem Oregon is not the place where you would expect to find the attention to detail that this staff provides. From the sincere welcome as you walk in to the smiling housekeeping staff. This hotel staff remembers and delivers on the experience of any of the grand hotels. None of the formulaic corporate plastic smiles and service. These folks deliver honest care and attention to the guest. The best I can say and my highest praise as they made me feel important and welcome. Look these folks up when you are in the area , just off the 5 and close to everything in the area. db

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Salem, Oregon hotel! Customer service is a high priority to everyone on staff and a sense of truly caring is what the DoubleTree experience is all about. Please let me know when you are in the area again. I want to personally make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I gotta say I love the staff that works in the hotel bar. Definitely help you unwind after a long day with the customer. They are friendly and know how to make you feel welcomed. Walking in and being greeted by name makes you feel like you're at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Address: 1590 Weston Court NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing