We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay a day or longer and not spend a lot of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A handy location for all your needs. Rooms with table and chair for paper work. Stove top for cooking. Personable service for your needs.

Room Tip: Two room sizes. One family size and one for solo or couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Salem - North. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a full refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We travel to do dog training and competition so having a room with a kitchen helps so that we do not have to leave our dog while we go somewhere to eat especially if it is hot and the dog cannot stay in the car.
Room was clean and everything worked - but my friend's refrigerator froze her milk so she could not have her breakfast in the morning. The dial was missing to adjust it.
Bed was firm but I like it that way. Very nice shower set-up. Clerk was friendly and helpful.
I wish hotels could also rate guests! I clean up after my dog but another person did not and her dog did his poop right in front of my unit. There is no excuse for bad dog owner behavior! It ruins things for everyone else. No wonder hotels charge extra.
Also there was a noisy altercation by some other people in the middle of the night that woke us up but again that is not the hotel's fault.
Nice and inexpensive accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanineTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RDO, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Crossland Salem - North.  Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff.  I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.
It is my pleasure to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described.  Every part of our hotel, from the in-room features, to the design of our guest corridors, to the personalized voicemail, is an integral part to creating a "home away from home" experience for our guests.  Since we recognize that a quiet, relaxing environment is critical to this goal, we have several systems to ensure that noise from within or outside the hotel doesn't interfere with your stay.   Although rare, there are instances where a guest may hear noises from the surrounding area.  Whenever we are informed of such disturbances, our standard operating procedure is to promptly identify the source of that disturbance and resolve it.  I take full responsibility that we were unable to resolve this situation to your satisfaction during your stay.  The refrigerator has also been replaced in this room.
It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future.  Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page).  I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.        

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Desk clerk was very pleasant, room was very clean. I didn't find the bed hard at all like everyone else says. In fact, I had one of my best nights sleep in years on this bed. I would definately stay there again. In fact, I'm planning on it. The only thing I would suggest for the manager, is to have a continental breakfast available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My husband and I attempted to spend the night here for a wedding in Salem. We literally were in the room for less than half and hour when we were lying in bed and found ourselves covered with fleas. At first we were worried that they were bed bugs, but they began jumping off of our skin and clothes and were a bit small to be bed bugs. None the less, we immediately packed up our things, went to the office and asked for a refund and checked out. The room # was 232 for those that may want to know..
Fortunately, we booked thru expedia and they quickly (within literally 10 minutes) contacted the hotel, got us the refund, transferred the money to our account and booked us another hotel. This experience has solidified my confidence with expedia, but will forever make us check under the sheets and mattress pad of every hotel we stay at from here on out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RDO, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crossland Salem - North. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We were heading back to Washington and spent 1 night in the Crossland Salem, seemed like a decent room on check in, but we had ants and had to put all our food in the fridge or microwave to keep the bugs out, the receptionist gave us some cleaner and rags to try and knock the ants down (it didn't work), they did give us a discount, but the walls were paper thin, and the bed was very uncomfortable too, no ice machine, and nothing nearby, not even a minimart.
If you just need someplace cheap for 1 nite and are by yourself it might be ok, don't take your wife.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluehat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I did not pay very much for this room, and did not expect very much. Wireless internet is available for a $4.99 fee, though that is a one time fee for a month. The room was rather small, but it was just fine for one person. It did have a refrigerator, microwave, sink, and stove. The only complaint is that the bed I slept in was like a rock. It was surprisingly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Staying with Crosslands in Salem is more than I can explain, from Staff ,to rooms, cleanliness, overall atmosphere. I have been back again many times & have told my other associates & family. I will also be checking into the other hotels in the chain, Portland, Eugene, & ect. Thanks is not enough.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleygirlbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Salem
Super 8 Salem
#15 of 24 in Salem
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
960 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North

Address: 3535 Fisher Rd NE, Salem, OR 97305-1419 (Formerly Crossland - Salem)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £45 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios - Salem - North. We are located just 6 miles from the Salem Municipal Airport and 4 miles from the Salem Convention Center. We are also 3 miles from Willamette University and just a mile away from Chemeketa Community College. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing