We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Comfortable, clean, and with a friendly staff to boot. Our family of four slept well in our quiet, spacious room. Nice touch: real glass cups and ceramic mugs. Breakfast was okay, but coffee was good. This chain is now on our A list.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Louise W,

Thank you for your gracious review of our property. We are delighted to hear that your family was able to enjoy the spacious accommodations and the extra touches that feel more like home. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Close to the Oregon State Fairgrounds, this three floor hotel also has easy access to I-5. The rooms are large and clean but becoming dated. Our junior suite had two TVs but one was an old tube TV. The bathroom sink (with pull/push faucet) is outside the bathroom.The king bed was very comfortable and lots of pillows.
You notice the chlorine smell of the indoor pool as you enter the lobby. The breakfast area is small with about 4 small tables. The hot items include waffles and oatmeal.
As others had mentioned the housekeeping door on the lobby level should be kept closed by the (slow) elevator instead of a sign saying "Do not enter, staff only".
Overall it worked for us.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face north and the front parking lot and odd numbered rooms face the back trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX-Traveler-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear PDX-Traveler-Guy,

Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel during your recent stay in Salem . We are happy that overall you had a good experience and enjoyed the large and clean rooms with lots of amenities.

We also thank you for making us aware of the issues regarding the smell of chlorine, noise from the laundry room etc which the staff are attending to.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The price was good and the room was very clean. Hotel is in desperate need of updating. The guy that checked us in was very nice but the girl at the front desk in the morning was very unprofessional. Way under dressed and on her cell phone at the counter. Breakfast was good however, the door between the breakfast room and housekeeping should remain closed. Very unprofessional to listen to their personal conversations and smell the cigarette smoke while making breakfast. All in all it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up front so you don't have to look down at the neighbors junky yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culpepperbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear culpepperbaker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at the Salem Shilo Inn, and for calling your concerns to my attention. The best way to measure our performance is through the comments of our Guests, so your feedback is important and very much appreciated.

I have spoken with my staff and given another opportunity to serve you, I feel confident that your next visit to this Shilo will be both pleasant and satisfying.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and her children and although the hotel décor is dated, the room was large and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were very handy although they don't have places available to set your things. The breakfast was ok; seating is limited, the gravy for biscuits and gravy was cold, but we used the microwave to take care of it. The staff was very friendly. I felt that we paid more for the hotel than we should have, but there were several events happening in Salem and all hotels were booked.

Room Tip: You may want a room near the stairs as the elevator is very slow. (The stairs are accessed from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was nice to stay for a week with my kids. The price was good last year, but about $20 more a night this year. Would've stayed this year at last year's rate. The elevator is slow and while I was there one of the washers was broke down for the whole week. The room was a good size and the staff were friendly. This stay was March 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear BrentB24,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and staff and also for letting me know the things we need to fix. We have done repairs to our elevators and both washers are now working. Please contact me directly at the hotel (503-581-4001) to discuss a great rate for your next stay in Salem.

Thank you,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stay here about two to three times a year. We get a king size bed, and a divided off kitchen/living room. The continental breakfast is good, there's boiled eggs, cereals, waffles and fruits and a few more items to choose from. It is always clean and the staff accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Pamela G,

Thank you for being a valued guest and your kind review. We look forward to your staying again in the future.

Sincerely,
Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#13 of 24 in Salem
551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.7 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Salem

Address: 3304 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97301-1818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing