We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The best thing about the La Quinta Inn on Hawthorne was that it was literally across the parking lot from Costco which was very handy for some last minute Christmas shopping and a cheap meal. The hotel seemed to be a bit tired. I had to press for a reasonable rate when I called from the road, but when we arrived there were very few cars in the lot. The hotel seemed rather deserted, but by morning there were several cars and an active dining area.
The breakfast was on the good side of the standard hotel fare. A pot of actual homemade oatmeal rather than skimpy packets sat on the counter along with the gravy for the biscuits.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Changeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We wish you the very best for 2014. We look forward to seeing you soon. We are here for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 645 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Alpine, California
1
Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I reserved our room online well in advance, two queen beds for 3 adults. I contacted the hotel a week later to make an additional reservation to accommodate additional guests and was informed that they could add extra rooms to my reservation but would not honor the price at which my initial room was reserved. Despite my disappointment, we all stayed for a single night. Upon arrival check in was quick and simple. Our room was very clean, modern, and provided all the standard accommodations. Having a vanity separate from the toilet and shower was wonderful when sharing a room with multiple people. Our room was nice and quiet. Continental breakfast was adequate; my spouse particularly enjoyed the waffles. I understand this property was recently renovated and certainly had a new, fresh, clean feeling.The only negative was that the parking lot was very small and did not accommodate anything larger than a compact car. Overall we were pleased, and I would recommend this hotel as a great place for quick casual travel. We registered for the La Quinta Returns program and look forward to redeeming our points in the future when we need a comfortable, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Travel_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments you gave on our hotel. We wish you the very best for 2014. We look forward to seeing you soon. We are here for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at several LQ over the years and this place is the absolute worst and far, far below the standards I expect from a LQ. The carpets are filthy and stained with pet waste. The room has a less than fresh aroma and the front desk clerk stuck is in an ADA room. The walls are thin and the bed resembles a lumpy marshmallow. Do yourself a favor and skip this hell hole.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Gaynol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Well, not all that bad. The room overlooked a tree rather than Costco; it was smaller than in most places at this price level, quite cramped, and to have any heat at all on a freezing-cold night, you needed to keep the fan running all the time. The good news: excellent breakfast plus friendly and efficient staff at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We apologize that the room you stayed in was not pre-heated before your arrival. Please let us know next time you plan on visiting our location we will have the room pre-heated for you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This La Quinta has been nicely upgrade. Has great beds and their breakfast was fantastic. Try to get a room on the opposite side from Costco. I will most definitely stay here every time I pass through Salem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank bigshoes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We will be more than happy to give you a room facing the creek upon request. We hope to see you soon. We are here for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Woodbine, Georgia, USA
1
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 24 in Salem
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, LaQuinta, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing