We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Several issues heavily influence this review. The first is that my room had pieces of plastic and clumps of dirt on the floor. There was soap scum in the tub and on the surround. Second the breakfast was marginal (the waffle iron was not working, meat was dry and tasteless, pastries were undersized, and coffee was weak). And lastly the parking lot also was shared with traffic from the Costco next door leaving me to worry about the safety of my car.
The furniture, bathrooms, and bedding were all outdated. There was not thermostat to regulate the heating/cooling system, just nobs to twist. I am not usually this critical, but I am glad I arrived late and left early.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank calguyCalifonria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ice maker broken. Burnt out bulb in bathroom. (second hotel with a bad bulb this trip). I called front desk to report. He says, "I'll send housekeeping to show you how to work the switch". As if I don't know how to turn on a light! Housekeeping shows up an says, "we don't change bulbs, I'll tell maintenance". Maintenance shows up with wrong kind of bulb. They came back with the right type but it was the wrong size. You'd think housekeeping would have noticed the bulb was burnt out when they cleaned. You'd think maintenance would have a clue what type of bulb is required in bathroom fixtures. Towels are very worn. But, the room was clean & quiet. Breakfast was just OK, at least it had a couple of hot things and wasn't strictly continental. But, nothing great.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know about the ice machine. We placed an order for a new Ice machine and we are expecting it to arrive on this soon.

Sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Unfortunately our housekeeper does not carry a ladder to replace the light bulb. The staff member who came to replace the light bulb was not familiar with what type of the light bulb to use in the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank mgiesbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Even a free room at the Residence Inn next door could not make up for the wretched bed there so we switched to La Quinta. Great price, very comfy bed, perfect location. Very close to I-5 but no noise. Super quiet rooms. Breakfast (did not eat this) has eggs and sausage, the rest was standard refined carb fare. Will be back for certain!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank KarlaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Close to freeways and shopping, but still quiet and safe. They give you handouts about local shopping and amenities that were very useful. The breakfast was above par. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the staff were polite and helpful. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

They always give me the room I want. It can get alittle crazy during the breakfast rush but you can work around it. The beds are the best and WI FI always worked. I also recommend Bentleys for happy hour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank bigshoes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

No extra charge for pets. Room was small but clean. Breakfast was adequate (scrambled eggs, sausage, etc.). Internet speed was very slow most of the time. The hotel is right next to Costco and across the street from Walmart. However, the hotel only has one entrance. There are a couple of exits but you can't enter the building since they are locked from inside so you have to enter the hotel from the main entrance only which makes it very inconvenient. We booked the room for 4 guests but they only provided 3 bath towels. When we asked for an extra towel, it took them forever to bring it and we had to go out to get it ourselves. Overall, it's a decent hotel. We will probably stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 24 in Salem
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing