We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the luxury of a Motel 6, but twice the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The title says it all (almost). This was a pretty disappointing hotel. The beds were like old trampolines, the pool smelled like a chlorine spill, and hallways look like Norman Bates might wander them. In all seriousness, the beds were so bad, I tried the chair and the floor before deciding the bed was marginally better.

The only saving grace was the breakfast, which was pretty good for a hotel breakfast and included hot eggs, sausages, biscuits, waffles, passable coffee, juice, etc.

I wouldn't recommend the place. You can do better for your money and, if not, just hit the Motel 6 and get basically the same for half the price.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Callicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 630 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Portland, Oregon
11
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel. Very clean, good breakfast. They had several selections and many hot items as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful.. The entrance is somewhat awkward because it goes through Costco. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenT288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The La Quinta Inn rooms were good sized, clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was quite good for a "budget" hotel.Staff was friendly and efficient. Important for us was that La Quinta is pet friendly with no charge for pets in contrast to the nearly Best Western charging a $20 fee. The hotel parking lot was insufficient for a fully booked hotel. Entry from the north is a bit difficult and requires a "U-turn" to access the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eataly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

La Quinta Inn and Suites is the greatest hotel in Salem. If you want to get the best hotel with the most reasonable prices, you will want to stay here...period!!! Not only is the hotel the cleanest in town, the customer service is unbeatable!!! From the General Manager, Jae, all the way down the line! The staff, including but not limited to Manny, Vanessa, and the entire night staff were the most courteous and considerate people I have met on all my business travels. I have no complaints. These folks went above and beyond what one would expect. The pool is fantastic and even the fitness center. La Quinta also allows pets which makes the hotel an option for everyone!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to EVERYONE who would like a great stay, great breakfast, and the best service you can expect. Please patronize this hotel; you will receive everything you expect and more. CLEAN, GREAT SERVICE, and GREAT PRICES...what more could you ask for? Don't think twice, just book your room and find out for yourself!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We've stayed at this property several times and choose this location because of convenience while visiting family in the area. There is some deterioration in the rooms as far as carpet maintenance, dated fixtures, and general overall appearance The lamps near the beds did not work and one of the shades had a hole burned in it, probably because someone tilted it for better reading ability. (Update these fixtures!) While the location is convenient to the freeway and next to Costco, its' entry and exit are terrible. If you need to get back on the main street to the freeway, etc. you can only turn right and then go down a couple of blocks to make a U-turn to come back to the traffic signal and main street. Otherwise, you can wind your way through the Costco parking lot (yuk!) to come out at the light leading into the store lot. During peak travel times when the hotel is heavily booked, parking is a real problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank SUZQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We learned the hard way that the Best Western across the street is a nicer facility, has better customer service, a better breakfast, quieter rooms, frig & microwave in the rooms, and has easy access to Mission St. (which La Quinta does not!). The manager of this La Quinta, Mr. Lee, has NO understanding of basic courtesy and the value of customer loyalty. My daughter is a student at Willamette University, so we have reason to book a hotel in Salem several times a year. In June I booked a one-night stay. When we arrived at the property after a long drive from CA, I learned that I had typed one digit incorrectly and had reserved for the previous night. I acknowledge that I did make a mistake, but keep in mind that I am a La Quinta Returns member, I was a repeat customer, and the hotel was not full so they would not have lost anything by simply transferring the reservation by one night. The clerk would not give us any break. I asked to speak to the supervisor. He said he was a supervisor and insisted that we would be charged full price for the previous night as well as the current night. We left and checked in at the Best Western across the street. When we got home, I sent an email to La Quinta, who then had the real manager, Mr. Lee, phone me. Mr. Lee was very rude. He did not want to listen to what happened and kept interrupting to tell me this was my fault and he owed me nothing. Technically this was true but also very short sighted. He went on and on about how I had disrupted his Sunday, and he deserved some personal time. Excuse me, Mr. Lee, but YOU called me. I became very frustrated and ended the call. He called back and the same thing happened again! He called back a third time, and my husband took the call. Mr. Lee then offered us 50% off a future stay, but by this point we had decided we would never stay at his hotel again even if he paid us! We will also advise all of our friends and relatives who will be coming up to visit and for graduation to do the same. The price at the Best Western is just a tad higher, but the added value is huge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CindyA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQ6486GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.
We wanted to compensate your no-show charges by giving you a 50 % off of your next stay wth us although it is the hotel policy to charge the guaranteed reservation no-shows.
Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.
We hope you would consider staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 24 in Salem
129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing