We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good place in town for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Word of Mouth

Word of Mouth
Ranked #1 of 527 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good place in town for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

we waited almost an hour for a table for two and they actually passed by our names while we sat right there! i finally asked and they accidentally skipped our name, so keep your ears open for your name and when you see people after you getting seated - ask!!
after all of that i ordered their "famous" dishes and was so very disappointed! it was the vegetarian hash and french toast and it was very average.i saw huge plates of food passing by with piles of gravy on biscuits etc and then everyone took food home, so i suspected that is what the rave is about. my husband enjoyed his meal and said it was very good, however i was disappointed in the vegetarian hash (too bland) and french toast. otherwise i suspect it is fabulous breakfast place. possibly worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Minkminkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    95
    33
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOM is WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The best, biggest breakfast ever. Their hash is to die for but you must try the French toast. Well worth the wait to get in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyweber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“speechless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

words cannot begin to describe how amazing this place is. from the staff to the food to the buildin itself. no one walks away hungry from
this gem. lots of options for all fr vegan to dieters to gluten free. i suggest however to leave your diet and or eating plan at the door and live it up. anyone who feels differently about this place clearly has not taste buds. A must visit!

Helpful?
Thank mariawal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast is worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've only had the chance to eat there a few times but loved every bite of their breakfasts! I have taken new people there each time I go so they can try it out as well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We found this from Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a fabulous restaurant! We read about the long wait, and we were very pleasantly surprised that we only needed to wait 5 minutes! We went an hour before closing. Do NOT park at the lot next door. Warnings on the door say the car could be towed. We had the creme brûlée French toast. It was fantastic... They split the order for us and we each got one (huge) slice of French toast , one egg and side of fruit instead of bacon. We told them we were first timers from out of state (learned from trip advisor) and they brought a cinnamon swirl pancake for the table, complimentary. That was delicious, very sweet and gooey. The staff is friendly and very attentive. This is a real hidden gem in Salem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Word of Mouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing