We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was average...Service was lousy”
Review of Cafe 22 West

Cafe 22 West
Ranked #71 of 539 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food was average...Service was lousy”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After calling one month in advance to arrange lunch for a group of 15, we arrived today and no one but the owner was expecting us. After waiting 30 minutes to get our drinks it was another 20 minutes before a different waitress took our food order. When the food finally arrived it was average at best. My burger was over cooked and the fries were lukewarm. The food probably sat on the counter while the rest of the orders were completed. Our waitress, Jen, admitted they were understaffed and got no advanced notice of our group. Twice I had to got looking for a waitress for drink refills and condiments.

It took us over 2 hours to order, eat and check out. At most cafes it usually takes us less than 90 minutes.

We are scheduled to go back with another group next month. I hope our experience then is very different than it was today.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilidawg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    9
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, older place and very cute surroundings”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Small place but neat atmosphere, very friendly personnel there is also a vegetable and fruit store right with the restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“MMMMM pie”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Cafe 22 is one of those unexpected restaurants out in the middle of the highway that turns out to be a real find.

The decor puts you in the 50's diner mode and has the added bonus of outside seating in the summer. Great breakfasts with the usual plus gravy! Biscuits and gravy, hashbrowns and gravy, gravy where ever you want it. Good burger and sandwich menu, too.

But the heading says "mmmmmm pie." Yeah, assorted pies, particularly on the weekends are fresh made on site. Get the coconut cream! And in season, anything peach is fresh from the orchards behind the restaurant. Then you know you've gone to food heaven!

I understand with planning, much planning, in the warm months the owner can arrange large groups in an outdoor setting, say for a reunion?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oregonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We enjoy eating outside. Great food and sevice. We enjoy the bountiful breakfasts. Good coffee. Also enjoy buying plants, fruit and vegetables at their farm stand in the summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dana_herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cooks talked about spitting in our food”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We went as a family with two young kids to have dinner. We were the only people in the restaurant. Everything seemed to be going fine until just before our dinner came out. My husband is in law enforcement and our ears perked up when we heard the cooks in the back, talking loud enough for us to hear them, about spitting in our food. I wrote a letter to the owner who called the police department and complained about my husband!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank wingwalker327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe 22 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing