We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and dirty”

Hong Kong House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #209 of 535 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and dirty”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The place is dirty, out side and in. I never would have gone in if I hadn't been with a group of people. It is cluttered and dusty around the cash register. The tables aren't bad, and the service was excellent. The food wasn't bad either. The prices are super low, but I'd rather pay a few cents more if they would clean the place up. The bathrooms were scary, don't let a child go in there alone. Really it makes you wonder what the kitchen looks like???
The place would go far if it were clean! Some pressure washing, maybe paint, and some plants in the flower boxes. Clean the bathrooms, and de-junk around the cash register. This place would be busy all the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scary Place Great Food”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

First this place is not in the best location in Salem, Or. If it was not on the internet under best chineese food in Salem I would not have even tried it or gone in.
The parking lot is very small.
The food is excellent. The service is hard to beat. I had a Family Style meal with my Family of 3. There was Plenty of food and left overs.
There is a lounge attached to the restaurant and seperated by a door, but you would nor realize it unless you try to use the North entrance instead of the east ( and main) entrance.
We were seated immediately and eating in about 20 minutes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kime4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

I differ from other reviews. Very ordinary! Food was boring. Service .it very unattentive. Won't go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Among the things I like about Hong Kong House..........”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

are these; it's a stone's throw from my house and it's one of only a handful of Chinese places that serve Singapore Pan Fried Noodles.

If you've never tried this wonderful dish, it is usually comprised of; Rice Vermicelli Noodles, Bean Sprouts, Onions, Scallions, Julienned Carrots, Shrimp, Beef, Chicken, Egg and BBQ Pork all tossed in Yellow Curry Sauce and served piping hot. Most places serve a mountain of it, but I always manage to put it away.

The Hong Kong House venue housed the first Chinese restaurant in Salem back in the late '50's or early '60's and has a soft spot in the hearts of many other old timers.

My server, Jack, seemed to be working the front of the house solo tonight but did a top notch job all the same.

I've adopted the monotonous habit of always ordering Singapore Noodles in places that offer it, but many of their other dishes are good too. House Special Fried Rice holds some pleasant recollections. It's also worthy of mention that this place has the only Dim Sum menu in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best chinese delivery”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

HKH delivery is one of our go to meals when we're too tired to cook or eat out. My favorites are General Tso's Chicken, Sesame Chicken, and Crab Puffs. Like all delivery places, they sometimes overcook the chicken in the attempt to keep it hot on arrival. But the flavor makes up for it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southbysoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing