We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Residence Inn-Stay with Confidence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Solid Residence Inn-Stay with Confidence”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom unit for two nights with my family. Property is just off of I-5 and easy to gain access to. Check in was smooth and the swing shift front desk gal was fantastic. Room is typical Residence Inn quality. Common living area with a pull out sofa bed, full size kitchen and table for four. On either side of common area were separate single queen bedrooms, each with a closet, sink and full bathroom attached. One draw back to note is they say the beds are queens but these were not queens, more like Full size or double beds.
The units furnishings were adequate and as stated before pretty much the standard for residence inn. The room was clean, although showing some age a bit....About time that all hotels upgrade from the old tube tv's to modern flat screens, this residence Inn included. The free wireless Internet throughout and free parking also make this property stand out!
Hotel had a nice indoor pool with Jacuzzi. Didn't use the fitness center, it seemed a little small but serviceable. The morning breakfast bar was the normal residence Inn fare. Waffle bar, Scrambled eggs, sausage, SOS, Toast, fruit, yogurt, milk, etc..For all of this included with the price of the room, its a great deal! Also, we didn't get to enjoy this, but Monday-Thursday evening they have a complimentary managers reception with light food and beer and wine provided.
I would stay at this Residence INN without hesitation again and will for sure the next time we return to Salem. Compliments to the General Manager and staff for doing a great job.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    62
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
34
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had no reservations but found this property on TripAdvisor mobile. Located in a good, pretty, secure part of Salem, we were disappointed overall with the stay. It was overpriced based on our recent experiences during this 18-day pleasure trip. The room's walls were a rich red color, a nice variation from standard hotel decor. The studio was adequate.

Breakfast was not good. After experiencing problems with the waffle maker, we had to request assistance from the attendant. She was indifferent, and didn't offer to help us make a waffle successfully. There was also no coffee, and I had to inform the attendant of that fact; she was not apologetic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimelessAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
530 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have stayed in several Residence Inn properties on a current vacation, and our stay at this one did not live up to the standards of the others. The hotel's location is convenient to I-5 and relatively close to downdown. The lobby and breakfast room are small and cramped. On check-in, we were unable to use the elevator to take our luggage to the room; the front desk person mentioned nothing about it, but another guest told us that there was something going on with the fire doors. Our room had been partially updated with the current Residence Inn decor.
In the middle of the night, we were awakened by a loud fire alarm that continued for several minutes. We, like most of the other guests, evacuted the building and waited outside in the cold while the fire department came. The fire engine arrived without siren or lights, and you could tell that the fire fighters had been through this before at the hotel.
The next morning, the breakfast room was unappetizing, with dry cereal strewn all over the tablecloth-covered folding tables serving as a buffet area. The breakfast itself was the standard Residence Inn formula, which is great. No one from the hotel apologized or offered anything for ruining the night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Traveling with friends we booked a two bedroom suite. This gave us a kitchen & living room to share. We stayed the weekend in Salem, while visiting McMinnville and the surrounding area. If you have to have TV’s ever where; this place is for you. Each bedroom and the Living room/Kitchen had its own TV.
It is a good place to kick back and slow down, or spend a few days with family. We booked three months in advance and got a very good rate for the two day stay. High speed internet worked well, except for the strange way you sign on…
Hotel has a coin operated laundry on each floor, which helped us replenish clean cloths supply for this 10 day outing.
Breakfast/Brunch was provided each morning of our stay. It was about as good as going to McDonalds’ for breakfast, with a little more variety. Coffee was good, at the brunch, as well as supplied in-room with the coffee maker. Our suite also had an apartment size fridge & icemaker! It also had a dishwasher, so keeping up with the dishes was very simple. Dishes for 4 were in the cupboard. We utilized the kitchen, and saved $60 by not going out one evening. Supplies are avail at the local Wal-Mart (less than 2 miles away) and plenty of quick marts in the area… If you have a Costco card, then you can shop right next door! The local pizza places know how to find this hotel, and will deliver to your door! Check with the front desk for a list of the best.
Yes it is near a freeway, but the walls keep the noise out. Costco though right next door is separated by a tree fence and in no way impacts the property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We were very pleased very our one-night stay at this charming Residence Inn. The Inn is coveniently located near the 5, with a short drive to downtown Salem. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made sure we knew about the Manager's complimentary social that evening, which was pulled bbq pork catered by Adam's BBQ (in town). Very yummy sandwiches and salad. Our room was a one-bedroom suite with kitchette. Nice having coffee maker and real dishes as well as microwave, small cooktop, and dishwasher. The Inn supplied coffee, tea, and microwave popcorn in room. Sons slept on sofa bed, which they said was comfortable enough. Bed was comfortable and linens were nice. Able to open windows during night instead of running noisy a/c. The complimentary breakfast was also good. Assorted breakfast foods to meet everyone's needs. Excercise room is small with three cardio machines and weights.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LH-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a very nice Residence Inn with a friendly staff. The suite was very clean and quiet. We stayed in a one bedroom queen suite that provided a fully equipped kitchen and a comfy recliner in the living room.There is a TV for both the living room and the bedroom. The bathroom vanity area is outside of the bath and provided generous counter and drawer space. Closet space was generous with plenty of hangers.Good shower. Sleeper sofa was less than comfortable for our petite adult daughter but may work for smaller child. Room do get some freeway noise. Breakfast buffet is better than average.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My wife and three older sons, 18-22-24 stayed six weeks because our house burned down and we needed two suites to live in. My wife and I had the normal suite and my sons had a two bedroom suite across the hall. In our time there the management took care of all our needs with a smile. We never encountered any "we are tired of you" attitude. The rooms were nice sized and well cared for daily. The couches are a little odd and hard but the beds were good. It turned out to be a prime location as it is very centrally located! The freeway is right there yet we never heard a car. Costco is almost next door and access to the freeway and main roads was superior. The overall attitude of the staff there is very upbeat and friendly. The hot tub was hot and the pool pleasant. We found the breakfast to be very ample even though it was repetitious for us ove the long haul. The parking lot was full most of the time. I listened to different needs of incoming customers and their needs were handled quickly and courteously. I would recommend this hotel for anyone, especially if you need to stay there for a time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelersalem_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing