We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Residence Inn Salem for one night on our way to Washington from California. We stayed in their 2 bedroom suites, Overall our stay was pleasant. Our room had a full kitchen, two bathrooms, and two bedrooms. The living room could use more updating (the sofa was uncomfortable and the tv set was the old tube - not LCD). Parts of the furniture looked worn out (lamp shade had holes). The two 'queen beds' were not as large as other hotels - seemed more like doubles. They were not very comfortable for two people. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff were friendly. I had requested that we be given a room on the upper floors when I booked weeks ahead through Marriott. When we got there the lady told me that they had only one room left on the ground floor. I wish they would take the 'request' section on the Marriott website more seriously and try to honor request of their guests, especially considering I made it weeks ahead of our stay. They could have reserved the upper floors for us as we had specifically requested it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfshinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than perfeck. We will be following up on the items that you mentioned. We are delighted to have acquired our flat panel TV's this week. I am sorry that they weren't available for your stay. Should your travels ever bring you back to Salem, Oregon we would love the opportunity to serve you again.
Michael Spoerhase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We live 3 hours away from Salem, OR. At 6:00 PM we made a last minute decision to see if we could get a hotel on Priceline in Salem. That way, we could get there by about 9 PM. Residence Inn accepted our bid and we were off.

First of all, the hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are very well-kept and the staff was SUPER friendly, even for a late night(ish) check in. Check in only took seconds and we found our room.

The room was huge! With a kitchenette, a chaise lounge tha t folded out into a bed, and the decor was lovely. Very trendy with rich colors. Most importantly, the room was CLEAN! Our family of 5 fit comfortably with our 8 year old sleeping on the chaise cushion, in her sleeping bag on the floor.

My husband and I used the fitness room and it was clean with up to date equipment. It was small, but not stuffy.

The free continental breakast we had was delicious, rivaling most other hotels we've visted before. Scrambled eggs, ham, waffles, oatmeal fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries... And it was served in a clean and cozy setting.

Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chadrach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Chad and family,
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Salem Residence Inn by Marriott. We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you to Salem, Oregon in the future.
Michael Spoerhase, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here in a Studio with two of our grandchildren. The room was huge for a Studio, with plenty of floor space for two blow up beds that our grandchildren prefer to sleep on during their adventures. Great location, easy to get to and very near The Enchanted Forest, which was the trip's ultimate destination.

We swam in the pool, which was very clean, but a bit cool (probably due to a recent cleaning). There were only a couple of pool towels left when we got there, but more came just as we were leaving.

The breakfast in the morning was plentiful, and had a good variety of options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We never slept in a more comfortable bed. Loved our room and the hotel grounds. The 24 hour pool was so nice and warm. A truly wonderful hotel. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Probably the cleanest room I've been in...not a single speck of dirt. Very quiet location, even thought it's close to I-5. Close to town. Would gladly stay here again with confidence.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avgtraveler412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom unit for two nights with my family. Property is just off of I-5 and easy to gain access to. Check in was smooth and the swing shift front desk gal was fantastic. Room is typical Residence Inn quality. Common living area with a pull out sofa bed, full size kitchen and table for four. On either side of common area were separate single queen bedrooms, each with a closet, sink and full bathroom attached. One draw back to note is they say the beds are queens but these were not queens, more like Full size or double beds.
The units furnishings were adequate and as stated before pretty much the standard for residence inn. The room was clean, although showing some age a bit....About time that all hotels upgrade from the old tube tv's to modern flat screens, this residence Inn included. The free wireless Internet throughout and free parking also make this property stand out!
Hotel had a nice indoor pool with Jacuzzi. Didn't use the fitness center, it seemed a little small but serviceable. The morning breakfast bar was the normal residence Inn fare. Waffle bar, Scrambled eggs, sausage, SOS, Toast, fruit, yogurt, milk, etc..For all of this included with the price of the room, its a great deal! Also, we didn't get to enjoy this, but Monday-Thursday evening they have a complimentary managers reception with light food and beer and wine provided.
I would stay at this Residence INN without hesitation again and will for sure the next time we return to Salem. Compliments to the General Manager and staff for doing a great job.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had no reservations but found this property on TripAdvisor mobile. Located in a good, pretty, secure part of Salem, we were disappointed overall with the stay. It was overpriced based on our recent experiences during this 18-day pleasure trip. The room's walls were a rich red color, a nice variation from standard hotel decor. The studio was adequate.

Breakfast was not good. After experiencing problems with the waffle maker, we had to request assistance from the attendant. She was indifferent, and didn't offer to help us make a waffle successfully. There was also no coffee, and I had to inform the attendant of that fact; she was not apologetic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripAmericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £105 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing