We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sitting on the interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Yachats, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sitting on the interstate”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have stayed at the hotel before and it was fine. This time there were only 2 rooms left and it was on the end of the building. We were right next to Interstate 5 and it felt like you were sitting in the middle of the road. Very loud. We left the fan on all night to try to drown out the noise. I'm only giving a low rating because of this. If you get a room in the middle of the building there's no problem. Just make sure you ask where the room is. Paying $129 for a room and getting no sleep is not cool. After all the taxes it was up to $142.

Room Tip: Just make sure you're in the middle of the building then there's no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly_dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    62
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
34
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed only one night as we were transiting through. We wish the stay had been longer.
The welcome was great and sincere. The staff were most helpful and supported us perfectly.
Most of all the room was roomy, offered everything you need including a full size refrigerator and kitchenette. There was a guest laundry and free on site parking.
We were impress with this hotel and the Marriott offerings.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, B.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, very spacious and extremely clean and quiet. Evening reception was catered by a local restaurant, very nice. Wine/beer complimentary - excellent. Breakfast was nice. The hotel staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. It would be nice to have trays to take breakfast back to the room, but not a big deal. We did find the hotel abit difficult to find, missed it twice as we did not realize it was set back from the street. All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transcona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had such a great experience! We were on our way to an Antique Show in Coberg, Or. and needed a hotel that was within an hour from the venue. It also happened to be our 28th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to stay in a community that had some good restaurants. We drove down from the Seattle area and wanted to spend the day in Portland before heading down to Salem. A Late check in was no problem. We had such a warm welcome from the front desk, evening clerk/Manager (I'm sorry.....I forgot her name). She remembered talking to me on the phone and wished my husband and I a Happy Anniversary. Our room was nice with a full kitchen and living room. To our surprise as well was an Anniversary Gift of Flowers, Champange, Candy and a card signed by all the staff!!! That was sooooo thoughtful!!! When we left to go out to dinner the same awesome, night desk clerk/Manager, recommended a nice restaurant for dinner. All and all a great stay. The only reason we did not give it the full 5 stars was the morning breakfast. We left first thing in the morning (6:30am) and breakfast was suppose to be ready and it wasn't. We waited for 15 more minutes and had to be on our way.
We would highly recommend this hotel for any future visits to the Salem area!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Travel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were here for a wedding last month and loved it. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet and comfy. No complaints here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side - away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizMan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The 2 bedroom suite is sweet!! Very spacious, beautiful and clean. Great value for the price. They serve free breakfast and dinner on a few days of the week. The breakfast is great but the dinner isn't anything to write home about but what the heck it's free and we were hungry. The location is fantastic because it is very close to Willamette campus and great place to stay especially if you are dropping off your kid to college. Costco is a stone's throw away and so is a very ginormous Walmart. I will go there again and again. I told all the college parents this is the place to stay especially for the money. Yes, the tv was the tube type but there were 3 tvs in the room! The laundary room is great and the workout room is adequate. There is even a small basketball court on site. The sofa rollout bed was better than a rollaway but I wouldn't sleep there more than 2 nites (kick someone off the bed) since those things get uncomfortable. All in all, it's beautiful and I was highly satisfied. I would have given it a 5 stars but that's reserved for Four Seasons!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Residence Inn Salem for one night on our way to Washington from California. We stayed in their 2 bedroom suites, Overall our stay was pleasant. Our room had a full kitchen, two bathrooms, and two bedrooms. The living room could use more updating (the sofa was uncomfortable and the tv set was the old tube - not LCD). Parts of the furniture looked worn out (lamp shade had holes). The two 'queen beds' were not as large as other hotels - seemed more like doubles. They were not very comfortable for two people. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff were friendly. I had requested that we be given a room on the upper floors when I booked weeks ahead through Marriott. When we got there the lady told me that they had only one room left on the ground floor. I wish they would take the 'request' section on the Marriott website more seriously and try to honor request of their guests, especially considering I made it weeks ahead of our stay. They could have reserved the upper floors for us as we had specifically requested it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfshinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than perfeck. We will be following up on the items that you mentioned. We are delighted to have acquired our flat panel TV's this week. I am sorry that they weren't available for your stay. Should your travels ever bring you back to Salem, Oregon we would love the opportunity to serve you again.
Michael Spoerhase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing