We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not so convenient location”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked one night on the 4th thru priceline so the value was well worth it. The rooms were clean well laid out. they had a very good breakfast in the morning but it is over by 9am so you really can't sleep in very long or you will miss out. Staff was friendly and accomodating too. The location can be confusing because the hotel sits off the street by at least a block and can't be seen from the road the address says it's on. You have to pay close attention to the road signs with the hotel logo on it to find it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekula38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    62
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
35
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

First, I need to lead off by stating the staff was very friendly and professional. However, the actual hotel is feeling a little "long in the tooth" and needing a refresh. The hallways were dim and looked to have had lots of use. Our mattress seemed to be an old foam type and was a little "spongy" for our taste.

The biggest issue was the breakfast area. It is very small for the volume of people that were present. We went back to our room the first time with the hope that a table would open up - it never improved. The staff seemed totally overwhelmed and it looked like a herd of cattle had moved thru before we got there. The staff was constantly trying to play catch-up to get things re-stocked and the tables were not getting the most basic wipe down.

The most frustrating observation was not completely the hotel's problem - it is people lingering at the few tables like they paid for an expensive brunch. I saw multiple groups who had pushed tables together and were just chatting. Take a hint - when there is a family with kids standing with plates in their hands it is time to move on if you are done. To compound the frustration was a family that allowed their kids to treat the place like their own kitchen by "customizing" their waffles by putting various ingredients into the wafflemaker like fruit and chocolate....the parents did nothing to hurry the kids along and it created a burned mess for the rest of the line. My kids waffles came out with burned black residue on them which really bummed them out after standing in line. Simple manners and common sense would have gone a long way toward compensating for the cramped space and the amount of people wanting to eat before getting on the road.

The last issues were minor but an inconvenience. For some reason, the pool was closed for a period of time in the middle of the morning when our kids wanted to swim. The other was they were resurfacing their parking lot and it resulted in a lengthy load out due to having to park at an adjacent hotel and no real plan other than telling guests they couldn't park in the Marriot lot after 8:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenwickPeriwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We often travel from CA to WA to visit family. Salem makes a nice stopping point, and we always choose this hotel. The staff is great, & we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome! We enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning, as well as the dinner offered on M-T-W nights only. So nice not to have to eat at a restaurant! The hotel is conveniently located. Staff helped me find the movie theatres at a nearby mall. Used the pool and basketball court every day. The lobby area had a nice big fireplace, plus all sorts of books and games available for use. One computer in lobby, free wifi in rooms. Our room was very close to the freeway and you could hear the traffic, but we got used to it. My biggest complaint is the price. We stayed in downtown Seattle (Springhill Suites), Lynnwood WA (Residence Inn), Seaside OR (Best Western), and Kent WA (Townplace Suites) during our trip, and this was by far the most expensive hotel on our trip! I have stayed at Residence Inns in other cities as well that were cheaper. For that reason I cannot give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the freeway as you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I like the residence inn because of the size of the room. There is room to spread out especially for a family. With a husband and three kids, two bathrooms and three tvs are necessary. Also having a living room and dining table with kitchen is great. Its less expensive than getting two hotel rooms which we have to do on some trips. It would be great if they updated the rooms. My bathroom shower had mold in the corners. The toilet handle has to be held down to flush it. The maid service need to take more time to clean and pay attention to detail. Im not sure if we will stay there again the next time in Salem.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2bed/2bath suite with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bball-Mom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for reviewing us again on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and love how you enjoyed the larger suite to spread out when traveling as a family. The two bedroom suite with separate bathrooms and three flat panel HD TV’s is certainly a great fit for families. We are sorry for the less than perfect room. We thank you for mentioning the items that have been enhanced since your last stay. If your travels bring you back to Salem, we look forward to serving you again and providing a more wonderful guest experience.
Michael Spoerhase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I loved how comfortable the bed and pilows were. I had a great night sleep with no interruptions. Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Hotel was close to to freeway and Salem downtown.

I forgot to bring toothpaste so they gave me two complementary packets, although I did have to come pick them up. Not a big deal, but other hotels deliver these to your room.

I would definetily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutiapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My family of four lived at this property for two months durng a home remodel. The staff is definitely it's best asset. We arrived unexpectedly and ended up staying much longer than we thought we'd be there. There is a noisy side of the hotel that bothered me, but not the hubby and kids. We asked to move and it was no problem. The indoor pool is large with lots of deck area and has a spa. The exercise facility is small, but is all in good working order. This hotel has all queen beds, no kings, and the mattress comfort leaves a LOT to be desired. My husband and I had back discomfort which disappeared after we moved out. As is typical in many hotels, we encountered noisy upstairs neighbors. The front desk was supportive in handling it when we complained. I would recommend the hotel for traveling families and long-term stays. There aren't any structured kids' activities, but the pool and outdoor sport court is great for them. The hearthroom has a TV and games.

Room Tip: Take a third floor on west side of the hotel for the least amount of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing