We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Steamroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Unexpected Steamroom”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is our second stay at the Inn. We reserved a three night, two bedroom room suite this past weekend and were steamed out of our room on the first night in room #124. While we offered concern to the manager the first night, and requested the ac be repaired or we be moved, we were brought two four inch fans in lieu of our request. I have asthma and woke repeatedly throughout the 1st night coughing with the high temp and humidity. On the second day, as the suite reached 83 degrees and in response to an additional complaint/concern, a male staff presented himself to "fix it" and offered the intervention of placing a towel under the iced over ac unit. We were then offered a tutorial on "needing to wait for it to melt". Practicing patience, we took our family out for the entire day to return to our 81 degree room. On this, our 3rd complaint, late into the second day, we were offered a different room. No help was offered to transport our items, apologize for the inconvenience or offering a complimentary stay or courtesy discount. We phoned desk staff to thank them for the courtesy of the 2nd day steam room move and again were offered a telephonic tutorial on the rate of cooling for our previous room. The staff could not even graciously allow us to thank them. REDICULOUS!!!!! Of course the gratitude was expressed a bit early because at bedtime we discovered our new room offered no bedding for the pullout couch and again we had to request what should have been standard service. In addition, the hot tub was dirty and oily. I thank you for clarifying where our family will stay for next year's HOOPLA- Thank you for the lovely breakfast and beverages and overall courteous staff.

Room Tip: Check the room temperature upon arrival and trust your instincts regardless of staff tutorials on &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here in Salem. We hope you enjoyed participating in HOOPLA, it was a beautiful weekend for the basketball event. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than perfect. We understand how important it is to get a good night’s rest. We regret that we had limited options to repair the HVAC unit that first night. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are delighted you were able to enjoy our breakfast and beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    62
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
64
36
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel several years ago and had a good stay. Decided to give it another try again and there were no disappointments. Hotel had sold out since my reservation and they needed the smaller room for folks staying longer. With that, I received an upgrade to a larger 2 bedroom suite. Wow! I think I'm getting this suite the next time I stay with the family. Breakfast was typical buffet. Nothing special but was free, hot, and no issues. Decent restaurants nearby. If you like to walk, the stroll to the Red Lobster restaurant is 1.25 miles.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here a bunch of times over the last couple of years while on business near downtown Salem. I would much rather stay outside the downtown area and commute 10-15 minutes. Can be a bit noisy from the freeway depending on where your room is. Overall about what you expect from a Res Inn. I've always had good service and never had any problems with my room. You get the expected Res Inn hot breakfast, the evening food, etc. Overall what you expect from a Marriott Residence Inn property.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here recently to extend a business trip and visit friends and family. The room was OK, but smelled too much like Febreeze (like they were trying to cover pet odors). The breakfast room was so overrun and messy that I opted to eat out all three mornings rather than deal with the poorly stocked breakfast (while the staff spent much of the time socializing in the food pantry). I thought the desk clerk was friendly and professional. I much prefer staying downtown at the convention center hotel and would recommend you stay there instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

terrible experience. Air conditioner was broken, management said it would be fixed, we complained, but no one seemed to be able to fix it. Room was 81 degrees, they did nothing except to say they were sorry. The hotel was all booked up, so there wasn't even another room to be substituted. Furniture is very shabby, not up to Marriott's usual standard. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Check to ensure everything is in good working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We regret that we couldn’t get the air conditioner repaired immediately due to scheduling challenges with our vendor, and that we failed to communicate effectively with you to relocate your family after the first night. We trust that the new suite continues to meet your needs. We hope that your family is enjoying the experience with the Track and Field events in Eugene, Oregon and the complimentary stay in your new suite for the remainder of your time here in Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We picked the Residence Inn because it was convenient to the freeway as we were making our way to the Oregon coast. Our first impression of the hotel was good as the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and had a kitchenette, but wasn't anything special. Breakfast in the morning was very crowded and they kept running out of food. We had to ask several times to get them to bring more food out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey of our hotel. We trust that you had a wonderful time visiting the Oregon coast. We are delighted that you were able to stay here on your way to the beach. We thank you for your patience as our staff was working steadily to keep up with the needs of our valued guests that busy morning. We appreciate your valuable feedback about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

So unclean we had to pack up and leave. The light fixtures were dusty. Both beds had sheets that were visibly not clean. As I walked out of the lobby I saw a pill on the floor of the lobby and figured it probably had been there for a while and nobody probably cared. The staff was very friendly, but it did not make up for the fact that the place was simply not kept up well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyndalljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback about your visit with us. We have been able to address the details that you provided and were able to attend to the lobby area after the busy weekend that we had. We trust that you will give us another chance to “wow” you on your next visit through Salem. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing