We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice, considering circumstances....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice, considering circumstances....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Due to a house fire, we were placed here for the duration of repairs to our home. The room was very clean, and spacious for what we were allowed. The fully equipped kitchen was a plus and being able to take our dog was great! When we first got there the fridge was leaking water inside and they promptly replaced the fridge. The breakfast was great and the evening social dinners were a plus. The only negatives were that the pullout bed was very uncomfortable and I had to place the couch cushion under the head of the mattress because it was lower than the rest of the bed. Also, the room above had a loose water pipe that would rattle like a jackhammer whenever they would turn on the water (10pm & 6am). Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, James. We were honored to be your family's home away from home while your house was being repaired. Thank you for your feedback; we have addressed the items that you have mentioned. We are delighted that the ammenities that you referred to enhanced your experience at the Salem Residence Inn by Marriott. We will pass on to our staff your praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    62
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
34
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed three nights in July 2013. Based upon our previous stay here in July 2012 we had no hesitation in staying here again. I was travelling with my son, daughter-in-law and their two young children. We used this Residence Inn as a base to visit the Salem area, including the Enchanted Forest theme park which is just five minutes down the road.

We had a two bedroom suite that provided us with much more space than a normal hotel room. The suite comprised of an open plan living area with a fully equipped kitchen, including a full sized fridge and dishwasher, three flat screen TVs, two full bathrooms (bath/shower), and free WiFi The suite was clean, quiet and was serviced daily. There is ample free off street parking.

Check-in/out was quick and easy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

As the weather was very hot, the kids certainly enjoyed the pool.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold items.

Residence Inns provide reasonably priced accommodation that is excellent for families travelling with kids. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is our second stay at the Inn. We reserved a three night, two bedroom room suite this past weekend and were steamed out of our room on the first night in room #124. While we offered concern to the manager the first night, and requested the ac be repaired or we be moved, we were brought two four inch fans in lieu of our request. I have asthma and woke repeatedly throughout the 1st night coughing with the high temp and humidity. On the second day, as the suite reached 83 degrees and in response to an additional complaint/concern, a male staff presented himself to "fix it" and offered the intervention of placing a towel under the iced over ac unit. We were then offered a tutorial on "needing to wait for it to melt". Practicing patience, we took our family out for the entire day to return to our 81 degree room. On this, our 3rd complaint, late into the second day, we were offered a different room. No help was offered to transport our items, apologize for the inconvenience or offering a complimentary stay or courtesy discount. We phoned desk staff to thank them for the courtesy of the 2nd day steam room move and again were offered a telephonic tutorial on the rate of cooling for our previous room. The staff could not even graciously allow us to thank them. REDICULOUS!!!!! Of course the gratitude was expressed a bit early because at bedtime we discovered our new room offered no bedding for the pullout couch and again we had to request what should have been standard service. In addition, the hot tub was dirty and oily. I thank you for clarifying where our family will stay for next year's HOOPLA- Thank you for the lovely breakfast and beverages and overall courteous staff.

Room Tip: Check the room temperature upon arrival and trust your instincts regardless of staff tutorials on &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here in Salem. We hope you enjoyed participating in HOOPLA, it was a beautiful weekend for the basketball event. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than perfect. We understand how important it is to get a good night’s rest. We regret that we had limited options to repair the HVAC unit that first night. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are delighted you were able to enjoy our breakfast and beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel several years ago and had a good stay. Decided to give it another try again and there were no disappointments. Hotel had sold out since my reservation and they needed the smaller room for folks staying longer. With that, I received an upgrade to a larger 2 bedroom suite. Wow! I think I'm getting this suite the next time I stay with the family. Breakfast was typical buffet. Nothing special but was free, hot, and no issues. Decent restaurants nearby. If you like to walk, the stroll to the Red Lobster restaurant is 1.25 miles.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here a bunch of times over the last couple of years while on business near downtown Salem. I would much rather stay outside the downtown area and commute 10-15 minutes. Can be a bit noisy from the freeway depending on where your room is. Overall about what you expect from a Res Inn. I've always had good service and never had any problems with my room. You get the expected Res Inn hot breakfast, the evening food, etc. Overall what you expect from a Marriott Residence Inn property.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here recently to extend a business trip and visit friends and family. The room was OK, but smelled too much like Febreeze (like they were trying to cover pet odors). The breakfast room was so overrun and messy that I opted to eat out all three mornings rather than deal with the poorly stocked breakfast (while the staff spent much of the time socializing in the food pantry). I thought the desk clerk was friendly and professional. I much prefer staying downtown at the convention center hotel and would recommend you stay there instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

terrible experience. Air conditioner was broken, management said it would be fixed, we complained, but no one seemed to be able to fix it. Room was 81 degrees, they did nothing except to say they were sorry. The hotel was all booked up, so there wasn't even another room to be substituted. Furniture is very shabby, not up to Marriott's usual standard. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Check to ensure everything is in good working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We regret that we couldn’t get the air conditioner repaired immediately due to scheduling challenges with our vendor, and that we failed to communicate effectively with you to relocate your family after the first night. We trust that the new suite continues to meet your needs. We hope that your family is enjoying the experience with the Track and Field events in Eugene, Oregon and the complimentary stay in your new suite for the remainder of your time here in Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing