We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family and I stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites over the weekend and had an incredible time! We were greeted by a very friendly and responsive front desk agent upon arrival, once we arrived n our room we were floored! The unit was a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen! My wife was thrilled! My sister also accompanied us and said this was the nicest, most family-friendly room she had ever stayed in! The room was clean and brilliantly designed. The beds were comfortable and the linens were great! We used the pool (which is open until 11pm) and found it was perfectly maintained and very inviting, there is also an onsite basketball court. The following morning we enjoyed an incredible complimentary breakfast where we had fresh blueberry waffles! We were SO impressed by the level of service, cleanliness and comfort this hotel offered us. It is centrally located in Salem and we found it was close to almost every attraction in the area! Thank you Residence Inn Salem! You did a great job and we look forward to our next stay with you!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your stay while here in Salem. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed all of the ammenties that we have to offer. We look forward to having you return some day to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, well kept hotel, staff is really nice. Pool is nice and breakfast is really good, lots of options to eat. Free newspaper too. Brought us a roll away bed and tooth brush.

Mckenzie did a great job!!!

We'll be back

Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate your mention of one of our front desk agents who prides herself on delivering excellent guest service. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Literally. If you are looking to ditch the stereotypical hotel stay with cold lobbies, rooms that look like the starch has viciously attacked everything, and the elevator smells like bleach, then the Marriott Residence Inn is perfect!

Don't get me wrong-the place is spotless! But the staff go above and beyond expectations to make this place feel like your home away from home. From the choice in paint color to the fact that they put a bag of popcorn in your room for you to munch down on in front of the flat screen TV with the best channel selection in the area, this place rocks.

The staff jump at the opportunity to earn your business. A call down to the front desk for coffee and sugar means that one of the housekeeping staff will be at your door in less than 5 minutes with 4 packets of your coffee (yes, they even ask if you would like decaf or regular!), and a ton of cream and sugar. My heart soars everytime I walk through these doors-they leave nothing unthought of either.

All dishes are cleaned before you arrive, and in case they aren't all too clean, they leave dish soap, dish machine soap, etc for you to clean if you want. Of course, the disclaimer on the machine says to call them and they will do it for you. But, heck, why would you do such a thing when they are all smiles and say things like "We are happy you are staying with us!". And, then you realize, wow, a hotel actually appreciates my business!

From towels to sheets, fireplaces to the oven in the room, I can't think of a better place in town to spend your money. Sure, it might be a little spendy. But, then again, I have no issue paying the price if it means the staff continue to be employed here, because they are the best in Salem.

If you gain anything from this review, take this away. The Marriott brand is known for hospitality and luxury. And this place does them proud. You won't shed a single tear dishing out the cost for one of these rooms because, quite frankly, its the only place in town where you are welcome, and they make you feel that way from the minute you walk through the doors!

Room Tip: No need to ask for a certain room or part of the building-they are excellent at placing guests based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review that you provided for our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Salem was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We were headed home from the Portland Airport but unfortunately we landed the worst day of the winter storm that had accumulated in this region. We tried to make it home, about 2 hours South, but got stuck for a very long time due to many accidents. We (my family) decided to pull off and get a hotel, and found this place. The staff were amazing, they found us the best rate, and even got my son a carton of milk since he was so upset from being on the road for so long. Our room was very nice, and was spacious for the 6 of us. I saw the staff really help out all the patrons, from helping scrape ice/snow off cars, helping to load/unload luggage, to making sure people were well fed from the breakfast, even when they came a little late. Every staff member was so polite, professional, and friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel, and if we ever need to stay in Salem, I know where we will choose!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank NallahBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear NallahBear,
Thank you for the wonderful review that you gave us regarding your stay while you were stranded due to the snow storm that we encountered in the region. We were delighted that we were able to provide an escape for you. We look forward to you staying with us again if your travels bring you back through Salem in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

As some reviews stated, the building is dated and I think the room rate reflects this issue. There are positives that more than make-up for this negative.

The check-in desk was super friendly, helpful and, after we got to the room, they called to make sure we were happy and had what we needed. The rooms are updated, look nice and are comfortable. The included breakfast is comparable to more expensive motel breakfasts. The location is fairly central in Salem and close to the freeway.

Overall, this location does the job and was better than I expected for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liiizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience here. We look forward to having you back if you ever pass through in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I've stayed at this property about eight times over the past few years and most of the stays are between four and eight days. As a long time and devoted Marriott person, I may expect too much from Marriott hotels, but they seldom disappoint. This one does. The last time I stayed here the carpet was stained and the closet only had one of two sliding doors. This time the closet has doors, but the bathroom woodwork is incredibly shabby. The "business center" is a small desk crammed into a corner of the breakfast area. If Marriott would build another property in Salem I would never stay here again.

The good news: the front desk staff is nice; the breakfasts are fine, though certainly nothing special; there are always newspapers for guests; there is plenty of parking.

Where on earth are the Marriott corporate quality control folks when I need them????

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and be sure to specify that it is away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cachevalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry that the room you were in had some conditional issues; we are working to correct that. We have taken your suggestion about the business center and moved some furniture around to open up some space around that location. Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and other amenities. We hope that you will come back and see us again as you frequent Salem.
Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Kind of your typical Residence Inn, but well worn. It was a convenient break after flying into Portland (1-hr drive) in the evening and heading to Crater Lake the next morning (4-hr drive). Breakfast was the normal waffles, bread, cereal that we've all come to expect. The bed was comfy, but the sofa (a sleeper) was so saggy that it was difficult to sit on. The front desk was helpful with hints on what to see while in Oregon. Although the motel was OK, I thought $140 was pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope that your visit to Oregon to see the beauty that this state has to offer was rewarding. Crater Lake is quite spectacular. We were able to address your concern about the sofa. Thank you for recognizing our staff service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 24 in Salem
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £115 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing