We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good - not much changed since last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still good - not much changed since last visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had another work stay here. Nice room, housekeeping good, staff friendly and helpful( especially jonathan).
Two issues kept them from a top rating : allowing dogs in the breakfast area and not-so-good evening snacks.
This is a pet friendly hotel which is fine - I like dogs ...... But even a pet friendly place should absolutely not allow a dog in the breakfast area. Staff when questioned said' We are pet friendly'.
The evening snacks are on three nights in a week and have not improved since my last visit and don't match other Residence Inns I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Get a room away from I 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was great to have you stay with us again. Service/companion animals are allowed in this case as long as they are away from the food service area. We are looking forward to the exciting new evening social experience starting in 1st Qtr 2015. We normally have a great offering on social nights. I'm sorry that particular night was not up to your expectations. We hope that on your next visit we can provide a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    62
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
34
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Upon my arrival McKanzie Michael made my arrival/check in an easy one. Ofelia, from housekeeping, made sure all my room needs were met. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Salem

Room Tip: any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are delighted that your 17 day stay with us was great. I will pass on your acknowledgements to the different team members that you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us during your time in Salem. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great staff, very friendly and happy to help. The room was clean, stylish, and comfortable. It was very hot the day I was there and I thought the pitcher was a nice touch. It was nice to have a pitcher of ice water on hand. The water pressure in the shower was great, always important to me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sodo0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities that you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Pool/fitness center is open 24 hours. Great, friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms. Property is kept clean. Overall a great experience!

Special props to Tim (Front Desk/Manager on Duty). A class act & a true gentleman. One of a kind guy! Treats every guest like they were his favorite check-in that day!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bigj12001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great words about Tim. Thank you for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived quite late in the evening to check in and Tim was so helpful in securing another room for the rest of the family, using my points. He even personally delivered to our room a pair of sunglasses that he found, which my sister in law had dropped somewhere in the lobby. Mackenzie always have that smile every time you pass by the front desk. She never failed to acknowledge my presence and has been very accommodating all throughout our stay. Both Tim and Mackenzie are wonderful employees and great assets to the company and will surely make your stay at this hotel to be very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our wonderful front desk staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Marriott Rewards used to be a good program, but now there is no benefit - there is no more priority registration for members - all you get are constant credit card solicitations. Probably because the economy has picked up. I will have to find another reward program that really offers something other than junk mail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
We are sorry that we were sold out when you needed a room yesterday and that we couldn't accommodate you. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and one of your benefits is that they do offer priority reservations if booked two days prior to the arrival date. We hope to better serve you in the future. If you would like to disable the e-mail you may call them at 801-468-4000 to have them not send you any further e-mails. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Salem Residence Inn was superb. We stayed several nights, and the front desk staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Particularly noteworthy is McKenzie, who helped us out by cheerfully cooking our frozen pizza for us (after we discovered there was no conventional oven in our room).

The only disappointment at the hotel is that the fitness center is so small, and consequently lacks a stationary bicycle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about Mckenzie. We will be sure to let her know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing