We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2007

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite. Add the pull-out sofa in the living area, and you had three completely separated sleeping spaces - each with their own tv. The staff was wonderful. It was quiet and there was a nice, clean breakfast room with scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy and various other items. The rooms were spotless. This was one of the best places I have stayed anywhere. I'd stay there again in a minute. The only complaint I have is that - at least when we were there - there was no sign on the street to let you know the hotel was there. The hotel is set back from the street and with no sign, we managed to drive past it a couple of times without knowing it was there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ravone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2007

Our girls soccer team stayed at the Residence Inn for the weekend. I worked with Steve for about a month before we came, getting our rooms organized etc. and he was so friendly and hospitable... There was a huge BQ that everyone could use and a gathering area with tables and chairs, and they also provided utensils for us to use. There were tennis courts that the girls could hangout on and a pool/hot tub also.
The front desk personnel were more than willing to help in any way possible... The hotel was immaculate and the beds were remarkably comfortable. All the rooms have a mini kitchen with sink, fridge, dishwasher, stove and microwave. The elevator did break down once so i decided to take the stairs after that, but it was still fine. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in town. Oh and don't forget the hotel also makes chocolate chip cookies in the early evening. hmmm yummm...
I hear that during the week they have snacks and drinks between 4-7 pm in their gathering area with the big screen tv. but not on the weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JulieA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

This Residence Inn is located off the I5 highway in a suburban business office/industrial area. A Denny's and Costco is located within a 5 min walk. Woodburn Factory Outlet is 17 mi away or 15 mins on the I5.

Our family of 3 stayed here from July 15 to 17 in room 228 which was a 1 Brm suite. Plenty of parking when we arrived on a Sunday evening. 3 disable parking spots in front of lobby door. Front desk attendant was pleasant, efficient and quick (<2 mins.) Only 1 elevator for the hotel, a bit slow but adequate for a 3 storey hotel.

The grounds around the building, the interior and the pool/spa were very clean and well maintained. Exercise room consisted of 5 exercise machines that were less than a year old. Thoughtful to provide sanitary wipes to clean handles and seats on machine after use. Breakfast area was warm and inviting with a free PC to use for surfing. Compared to other Residence Inn on the west coast, I found the selection and quality of the breakfast items to be less than average such as the breads and pastries. Items that ran out were not replenished on timely basis during the breakfast rush.

Our room appeared to be recently remodelled with new paint and furnishings, thus very clean and well maintained. The A/C kept the bedroom cool and not overly noisy. Excellent selection of TV channels, but lacking in children's programming, so bring a DVD player for the preschool kids. The sofa bed was adequately comfortable, a bit thin in the thickness in my opinion. Nice touch with granite countertops for the vanity sink and bathtub walls. Excellent showerhead and water pressure. The tub wall was lower than your standard tub height which is great for bathing kids and those with mobility restrictions.

Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel by its cleanliness and maintenance . If you are travelling down from Canada to California or vice versa and needed a midpoint place to stay overnight or a couple of days, I highly recommend this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Daifaylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Marriott Residence Inn-Salem, Oregon

Check in was quick and efficient.

When we arrived at our room, we found we had a free upgrade from a suite to a 2 bed 2 bath unit. Since we were traveling with a grandchild, this made us very comfortable.

Everything appeared new and clean.

There was plenty of coffee, popcorn, towels, extra blankets, pillows and sheets in the unit.

The free breakfast was ample and differed slightly every day. The waffle machine was a plus.

On a trip to the pool, I mentioned to the man at the desk that the alarm clock in the next room was going off. He immediately knew the party in that room had checked out and took a key and was on his way to correct it.

It's all positive.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank CCConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, Colorado
16
Reviewed 13 January 2005

While this hotel lacks anything fancy it is exactly what a traveler in Oregon needs. The hotel staff is 100% friendly and accommodating. The parking is excellent and right up to your door. Elevators are available if you travel as light as I do :) This hotel is perfect for longer stays with the kitchen area. Just remember to bring along some coffee & filters for the coffee pots. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for shorter stays.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2004

Great service from the minute you walk into the lobby. Great extras such as a "full" breakfast, workout room, pool and full kitchen in each room. Very clean, great room service and decent price.

7  Thank GTALOHA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2004

Very attractive property. Freeway close without freeway noise. The pool is open 24 hours, which was really nice for us as we arrived late and could still enjoy a relaxing swim. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was nice.

Room service would make this place a 5-star. I recommend it.

6  Thank fortunakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £104 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing