We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Crepes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleon's Creperie & Gelateria - CLOSED

Napoleon's Creperie & Gelateria
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Salem
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Crepes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I have been there twice now, and they have great service and great food. The pizza is AMAZING!! The crepes are also good. This used to be a small cafe and gelato shop but has recently expanded into a full italian restaurant. The decor is very authentic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank laughlotschrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sometimes bigger is better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Since they punched out their space another 800 or 900 square feet, some months ago, to the northeast ground floor corner of the Reed Opera House into a nice dining room, their menu has expanded to include Soups, Salads, Sandwiches Crepes and Quiche.
We shared a bowl of fantastic French Onion Soup. ($6.50) It's as good as I've found in Salem. My bride had a Ham Crepe; Black Forest Ham, Gruyere Cheese, Spinach, Tomato and Dijon Mayo. ($9.50) She liked it. I had a Roma Grilled Panini Sandwich; a medley of cured Italian Meats, Provolone Cheese and Olive Tapenade on Ciabatta Bread. ($9.00) It was served with Chips. Sadly, the Bread was scorched in the Panini Grill. This fact flunked an otherwise good Sandwich.
The décor is rich and tasteful with sculptured fountains and granite table-topped booths. Lots of windows provide good views of the street outside, a fact which will be appreciated by fellow people watchers.
Our server, Anna, did a good and efficient job.
I'll come again just for the French Onion Soup and maybe a side of Bread and Butter.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Two of us had dinner here while staying in Salem. The food was very good - well prepared and tasty. The service was helpful (in choosing wine) and prompt. The price was not too bad. I would recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

When family or friends come to visit I love taking them here.
I love walking in for a coffee or Gelato for the evening and now she has a restaurant to sit at for lunch or dinner.
The salads are big and so are the creps .
I have tried almost everything here and it has satisfied me : )

My fav. Part is the seating out side,so European, love places like this that make your day special!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Diamond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Lunch here was like being in a Paris cafe. The crepes were perfection. Fresh, wonderful ingredients and generous portions. It was so good we went back for breakfast the next day and were just as impressed the second time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napoleon's Creperie & Gelateria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing