We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Refreshing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Upon arrival of check-in, there was an error on my floor assignment. They had me in a second floor room, and Terra at the front desk, moved me to the first floor with a complimentary upgrade to a King Suite. Thank you Terra!

Later, I went to the lobby and Chris assisted me with some pamphlets on wine tasting. And also with my WiFi connection. Most front desk clerks elsewhere would not be so helpful.

I am really impressed with my room, extremely contemporary and clean. The last two hotels, one in WA and the other in ID were Best Western; both had serious issues with housekeeping.

What separates Hampton Inn from other hotels is consistency from customer service; cleaniness, extensive breakfast choices, and quietness of the rooms.

Thanks again Terra and Chris. You're both very pleasant and reflect the employee image of Hampton Inns.

Room Tip: I can only recommend rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleBergsteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights visiting family. Check-in was great night host even gave us a break on AAA rate. Would recommend for anyone looking for a good place with good value.

Didn't use any facilities so can't comment. Only negative was that the morning breakfast wasn't very well stocked. The one morning we tried it seemed to be out of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This Hampton Inn was fresh and new having been open for only four months (since April, 2012). The staff was noticeably friendly and helpful and the check in/out process was swift and flawless. The basic one-king-bed room was noticeably smaller that what we are used to at Hampton Inn and it lacked a microwave and refrigerator. This is important to me as I like to have diner in the room after a long day on the road. I found out later that they would have been provided free if I had asked. The desk was also on the small side for anyone who has work to do on the road. The king sized bed was as good as any we have experienced. The wireless Internet connected quickly with adequate but not real high speed (2 mbs download). The complimentary breakfast was good but lacked any bacon or sausage. At $109 base price (reduced to $103 with AAA discount) the room was a decent value to which we will return if we again visit the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We reserved a block of rooms for our wedding guests. Toby, the on-site manager was so easy to work with. He was very responsive and really made all of our guests feel special. He even provided a shuttle to and from the wedding for our guests to use so they could enjoy themselves. Many of our friends and family stayed in the hotel and all loved it. The duvets are cleaned with every guests and very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. As for the breakfast, it was great with so many options for everyone. The hotel did a great job accommodating our guests for both early check-in and if needed late check-out. We cannot thank Hampton Inn enough for all they did to make us and our guests feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We thoughly enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. The service was amazing. The hotel staff was very friendly and did everything in there power to make our stay relaxing and memorable. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and always well stocked even during the busy periods. Thomas did an extrodinary job!
The management takes pride in providing excellent customer service. We would definely stay there again when visiting Salem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe king suite because it had a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank softballmom94566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites and had excellent service. We were immediately greeted with friendly smiles and were checked-in immediately. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The complimentary food as described by the other reviewers was excellent and saved us a lot of money. Thomas, the breakfast organizer, was friendly and went out of his way to help our entire team. When we had early softball games, he made sure that he had breakfast waiting for us earlier than the usual time.....he made it available as early as 5:45 am. He also prepared breakfast/snack bags for our entire team on at least three occasions. Chris, the manager, allowed us to store our baggage in a secure area on check-out day since we had a very early game. We came back later to pick up our items. Jenna at the front desk was very patient and kind to all of us as the girls gobbled down the delicious cookies. Hampton Inn is lucky to have such an amazing staff. Thank you for a great experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11HappyCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the inn, service was excellent, the staff was always available to serve. My wife and I arrived a little early (8 hrs. before check-in) the receptionist, with her bright smile welcomed us and preceeded to check us in, found and available room (the exact type requested for) and we were able to rest before our scheduled appointment for our grandchilds softball game. We were there for the ASA Girls fastpitch softball nationals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salem

Address: 510 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5085
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £90 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, set just minutes from downtown Salem, the state capital of Oregon. Take the family for some thrills at Oregon State Fairgrounds, discover the state’s natural beauty at Silver Falls State Park and explore Oregon’s various wineries and restaurants during your stay. The hotel is also located near many local colleges and universities, including Willamette University, Corban University and Western Oregon University. This Salem hotel is great for visiting students and families, and packed full of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also convenient to many nearby businesses, including T-Mobile and Sanyo.Check in to this hotel in Salem, Oregon to enjoy a range of amenities and services to make each guest feel at home. Swim laps in the hotel’s swimming pool and maintain your fitness routine on the road in the fitness center with a range of cardiovascular machines. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast, or simply grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag to take away with you Monday through Friday. Our hotel in Salem, OR offers a light dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Stay on top of work in the business center equipped with fax, photocopying and printer access. Host your meetings in the hotel’s 851 sq. ft. meeting room which accommodates up to 96 guests in a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing