We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with wonderful staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
1 review
“Great place to stay with wonderful staff and management”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice so far and this will be my home away from home as long as I travel to Oregon for work. Working in hospitality industry, I know how hard it is to find the right staff to deliver excellent service and this hotel got it together. I loved staying there and appreciate what they did to make my stay easier from providing a great service and clean environment to providing a free meeting room and accommodations just because they appreciated me as a customer.
GREAT job and keep it up. That is how you make loyal customers for your hotel and the brand.

Room Tip: I usually stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    103
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
270
148
41
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What can I say? Sheer perfection. Spotless! Noiseless! Soft, fluffy towels! White, white, spotless white bedding! Perfect shower; constant temperature. They may have difficulty digging me out of this room...........Oh, and great service! (Got knocked over by a big friendly pup; the staff was right there with bandaids and Alleve. Nicole even helped me up to my room and carried my bags! I want to adopt her!) Who knew!! Right in the middle of Armpit, Oregon. *sigh*

Green Features: Guests may choose whether or not staff should change towels/linens; wonderful! Who needs to pollute the environment by changing towels or sheets daily?
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Lee, thank you for you generous review. I am happy to know you enjoyed our Cloud 9 bed package, I will be sure to pass your kind words to our housekeeping team. Nicole was pleased to know that she was recognized by you, we always love to go above and beyond for our guests! Next time your in Salem stop by we would love to see you again!

Thank you,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Easy access, new facilities with clean, comfortable rooms, especially the beds. Staff are friendly and helpful. Nice fitness area. I appreciate the weekday dinner items, that are brought in from area restaurants . . . nothing fancy, but a nice unexpected service. I always check the Hampton room availability first when traveling into this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Curtis for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed our fitness center and dinner! Thank you for your loyalty to the Hampton Family! I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!!

Thank you,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were on our way to California from Washington when we got stuck in the terrible snow storm that hit the Portland area that forced us to get off the highway in Salem. We called the Hampton inn and they were so nice and found us room to fit our family of 6. I cannot tell you how amazing, accommodating and going above and beyond the staff at this hotel was. They ordered pizza so that guests would not have to leave to find food in the storm. They were outside helping put chains on tires for guests, they were great with our kids. Honestly I have never met such an amazing staff at a hotel. The rooms were equally as nice and comfortable and clean! I highly recommend staying here to everyone, you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I am glad that we could help you out in your travels. It was a harsh day for a lot of our guests and it was very important to us that everybody was as comfortable and warm as possible, and full! I hope your kids received a toy from our toy box in the morning! I hope you had safe travels home, and we get to see you next time you're in Salem! Thank you so much for your review!

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacksmus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I travel a lot. We are diamond members and always look for Hilton Garden Inns or a Hilton Hotel. If we cannot find a Hilton we look for Hampton. We were just in Clackamus, OR and stayed in the worst excuse for a Hampton Inn I have ever seen. Tonight we are in Salem,OR in the nicest Hampton Inn. Amazing!!! We walked in and they welcomed us as Diamond Members. We were upgraded to a suite. When we got into our room there was a welcome card in our room with our name on it. It is so nice to have such personal service when you travel so much. This is what we look for when we travel!!!!!

Room Tip: Excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Family and the Hampton Family! We always like to put our own Hamptonality in every guest that stays with us. Make it feel like it is your home away from home! We appreciate your review and hope to have you back to our property!

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I wish I copied the love letter I just wrote to this Hampton! Long story short, the BEST HAMPTON I HAVE EVER STAYED IN! WONDERFUL service!! Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! I would really like to just move in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciated seeing your long letter as well, I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay so much! Hopefully we will see you back here soon!!

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Salem on 2/7/14. This was at the height of the snow/ice storm. Even though the weather was terrible, they had friendly and welcoming staff when we checked in. They offered suggestions for dinner that was close (and had a bar) after a three hour trip from PDX which is normally an hour.

We had to check out 24 hours early due to the worsening weather in order to make our flight back home on Sunday. They were understanding and gracious.

The hotel is very new and the rooms and lobby area are first rate. We will stay there again when our family needs take us to the area.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riddellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
I appreciate your review of our hotel. I am very happy we could help you in that rough weather. It was a very stressful weekend for all our guests and we wanted to make everybody comfortable as possible, so I am very relieved to hear that we could reach your expectations. I hope you had a pleasant trip home, and that we see you again!

Thank you,

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salem

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Address: 510 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5085
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, set just minutes from downtown Salem, the state capital of Oregon. Take the family for some thrills at Oregon State Fairgrounds, discover the state’s natural beauty at Silver Falls State Park and explore Oregon’s various wineries and restaurants during your stay. The hotel is also located near many local colleges and universities, including Willamette University, Corban University and Western Oregon University. This Salem hotel is great for visiting students and families, and packed full of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also convenient to many nearby businesses, including T-Mobile and Sanyo.Check in to this hotel in Salem, Oregon to enjoy a range of amenities and services to make each guest feel at home. Swim laps in the hotel’s swimming pool and maintain your fitness routine on the road in the fitness center with a range of cardiovascular machines. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast, or simply grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag to take away with you Monday through Friday. Our hotel in Salem, OR offers a light dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Stay on top of work in the business center equipped with fax, photocopying and printer access. Host your meetings in the hotel’s 851 sq. ft. meeting room which accommodates up to 96 guests in a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing