We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aptos, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hampton Inn and Suites in Salem, Oregon is a gem. Great value for the price. The staff is extremely helpful. Free parking, salt water indoor pool. Nicely equipped and private business center. Location is close to Interstate 5 but not right on top of the highway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Salem Oregon! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our salt water pool and business center. Thank you for being our guest, I hope you will return in the future!

Sincerely,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    107
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
280
155
42
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I booked on Hilton website 1 King Studio Suite at AARP rate of $132.05 per night for 3 nights. The young female front desk clerk assigned Room 317 to us. We asked to see and sign the hotel registration to confirm the rate and type of room, but she said, "No need". Room 317 is not a suite, but a room with a roll away bed. We asked for a QUIET studio suite booked by us and was told they were all taken. We waited at front desk for her to find the suite booked by us. Finally Manager Chris happened to come out, and we asked for his help.

We have been a Hilton member for years staying at their hotels around the world. This is the first time we receive a room downgrade and such negative reception at front desk. Manager Chris gave us a $25 Macy's gift card and comp the first night. Finally they found us Room 201, a suite. We woke up at midnight by this loud vibrating machinery noise, couldn't sleep, called front desk, nothing they could do, so we told her to check us out after 1 night, we called Hilton, booked a room at Double Tree for the remaining 2 nights.

This has been the worst front desk experience we have ever had in our lives.

Room Tip: At check in, insist on seeing the hotel registration to verify your booking. Don't take the noi...
See more room tips
Green Features: We are traveling around Oregon for 40 days. This is the first hotel room without a recycling trash can.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMerritt, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
OandL,

Thank you for taking time to share your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites in Salem. I deeply apologize that you experienced difficulties with the Front Desk. I know how frustrating it can be when things don't go as planned when traveling. The room style you were originally checked into was a honest mistake, which we corrected as soon as you notified us of the issue.

Regarding your concerns about registration paperwork; we have moved to a paperless check-in process in an effort to limit our environmental impact. This is a relatively new process for us and is becoming more of an industry standard. It's through comments like yours that we are able to identify potential problem areas. We will now be focusing on verbally confirming room type, duration of stay, and rate at the time of check in to hopefully eliminate mistakes similar to what you experienced.

I am also sorry that you experienced some sort of "machinery noise". Unfortunately, when you brought it to our attention we had already sold and checked in all of our rooms - we simply did not have another location available to move you to. The following day I did have our Maintenance Person search for the noise/vibration that you spoke of. Though we could not find what you described, and we've had no complaints since, we continue to monitor the situation in an effort to ensure each guest has a comfortable stay.

It's obvious you did not enjoy your experience with us. Though we make every effort to provide an exceptional experience to our guests, unforeseen circumstance can still arise. One of the beautiful things about choosing a Hampton Inn & Suites is our commitment to our guests with the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee; if you are not pleased with your stay we don't expect you to pay. This is a policy that I stand by proudly and evoked for your stay. I know it does not replace lost sleep, however it's what I would expect if I were the unhappy guest.

Thank you again, OandL, for taking time to review our property and provide insight. I assure you we are continually looking for opportunities to improve and we have leaned from your comments. I hope next time you are in the area you will consider giving us another chance.

Sincerely,
Christopher R. Merritt
General Manager
Christopher.Merritt@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late July. Our visit was perfect from beginning to end. We were warmly greeted by Elizabeth and Katie at the front desk. They were very friendly and answered all of our questions about the area. Chris, the Manager, spent a lot of time with us at the evening reception and made helpful suggestions about the rest of our trip. Nicole, at the front desk in the morning, was equally charming and ensured that we had snacks for our day's exploring. Breakfasts were excellent and we really appreciated the cleanliness of the room and the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeGoOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn and Suites Salem Oregon! It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful trip to Oregon! I am glad that we were able to be a part of it, our front desk team always wants our guests to have everything they need to make their time here more enjoyable. As well as the rest of our staff. We truly appreciate you as a guest and thank you for you review.

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This property is awesome. I was greeted by an award winning (hilton) staffer who was awesome. One of the best I've dealt with. Room was great and comfy. New pool. Parking is a bit cramped but the other side of hotel had plenty. I would stay here every time.

Room Tip: Upper floor, suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Mike, thank you for sharing your experience here at the Hampton Inn and Suites! I am happy to hear that it was a great one! We always love to know our guests enjoy their time here. I hope to have you as a guest again very soon!

Thank you,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is an outstanding Hampton. The quality of service is the best I've ever seen at a Hampton. The staff at the DoubleTree in town should be required to take lessons on customer service from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Salem Oregon! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay! I hope to have you as a guest again soon!

Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This Hampton Inn is head and shoulders above any other Hampton Inn you may have stayed at before. The desk staff were unbelievable friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly new, and everything is in excellent condition. The hotel has a pool, exercise room, and a business center. Plenty of fresh cookies when you arrive, and on Tuesday through Wednesday, they serve dinner buffet in the breakfast room for the hotel guests. This hotel is the greatest Hampton Inn, ever!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 034632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for the awesome comments! We are always excited to know that our guests are thoroughly enjoying their stay with us! All of our staff takes great pride in their jobs and always wants our guests to have the best experience they can have while staying with us! I will definitely pass along your comments! I hope next time you are in the area you will be our guest!

Thank you,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were in the Portland area for business that turned into personal family time. Our intentions were to stay in the Portland area for 2 nights then head south. We didn't get all the things accomplished in the area before Saturday afternoon so we decided to stay another night, unfortunately there were NO motels in the Portland area that had rooms, we searched for a couple of hours and finally extended our search down south as far as Salem. Luckily we got the very last room at the 3rd motel we tried in Salem.
The motel is gorgeous, the staff was amazing, the room was big and clean. We had to take the suite because it was all that was left, unfortunately that meant our kids had to share a pull-out couch, but it was nice.
The room was great, we were only in it for a short time, but it also came with a very hefty price tag, the most I've ever paid for a room. It was very comfortable and clean, it was nice, probably not that nice but nice.
We did check-in and then go do some of the things still on our list, so when we got back the pool hours were over, however there was a group of people in the pool, which was discouraging because we told our kids they would have to wait for the morning. The pool and spa were nice, the spa is a bit small, but very comfortable and the pool was a nice size and clean. It's a salt water pool which is supposed to be better for you. My husband and kids all open their eyes under water and that salt water killed them, we finally had to buy eye drops because they couldn't see and their eyes burned so bad. Plus they had no pool towels, my son had to go to the front desk soaking to get us some towels.
They had a breakfast that my family enjoyed, a lot of options to pick from.
Overall this is an incredible motel, the few pool things could be overlooked, their eyes are fine now, but the price, that's a tough one to swallow.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltimetraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra N, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! I apologize that your family had that problem with our pool. I am glad to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable. I understand that traveling your family you may be rate conscious, next time you are traveling through the area please contact me directly and I hope that we can make your next stay top notch!

Thank you,
Terra Nilsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salem

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Address: 510 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5085
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, set just minutes from downtown Salem, the state capital of Oregon. Take the family for some thrills at Oregon State Fairgrounds, discover the state’s natural beauty at Silver Falls State Park and explore Oregon’s various wineries and restaurants during your stay. The hotel is also located near many local colleges and universities, including Willamette University, Corban University and Western Oregon University. This Salem hotel is great for visiting students and families, and packed full of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also convenient to many nearby businesses, including T-Mobile and Sanyo.Check in to this hotel in Salem, Oregon to enjoy a range of amenities and services to make each guest feel at home. Swim laps in the hotel’s swimming pool and maintain your fitness routine on the road in the fitness center with a range of cardiovascular machines. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast, or simply grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag to take away with you Monday through Friday. Our hotel in Salem, OR offers a light dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Stay on top of work in the business center equipped with fax, photocopying and printer access. Host your meetings in the hotel’s 851 sq. ft. meeting room which accommodates up to 96 guests in a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing