We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting exhibit...”

Hallie Ford Museum of Art
Ranked #15 of 79 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outstanding collection of Native American baskets is one of the highlights of this Willamette University museum, which specializes in art of the Pacific Northwest and also features European and Asian art.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
279 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Visiting exhibit...”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Although it is a small museum, the visiting "Near East" exhibit was amazing. The artifacts were so beautiful and the historic descriptions fascinating. We were so fortunate to have the opportunity to view this spectacular exhibit. Allow a minimum of an hour for your visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emery, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is a snoozer”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I'm not a fan of modern art. This place is full of it. They had a couple of exhibits of old pottery from the near east which was minimally interesting. There was an exhibit of ancient coins which was interesting. Otherwise, it was a snoozer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This museum has it all, from an impressive Native American collection of basketry to ancient and modern works of art from local and international artists.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“About an Hour of your time Art Museum”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I went to the Art Museum and spent about an hour viewing the contents. It was a nice clean place and I liked the Oregon art. I thought they should include more paintings instead of so many photographs. It may be just me, but I am in the group of people who don't really consider photographs artistic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“State St. gem”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This art museum just east of downtown Salem has a wonderful permanent collection of outstanding art by Northwest artists, as well as excellent temporary exhibits. Admission is FREE on Tuesdays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CascadeSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hallie Ford Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing