We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful gardens!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schreiner's Iris Gardens

Schreiner's Iris Gardens
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Early May through early June, we invite you to stroll through our 10-acre display gardens. Gift shop, plant sale, cut Iris by the stem or by the dozen. Gardens open daily dawn to dusk. FREE admission, FREE parking. Gardens closed in summer and winter months. Office remains open year-round, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most beautiful gardens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

what a beautiful place to take family and stroll through the iris. Not to mention a beautiful place to take pictures! You get amazing pictures there!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of oohs & ahhs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Love spending iris time at Schreiners. Best to avoid the weekend if you can, if you want to avoid the crowds. So many irises and flowers to admire and dream about

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
812 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Amazing Iris Displays in May/June”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Shreiner's is a commercial iris raising operation with a spectacular display in May/June. Grab a catalog and tour the incredible color variations possible with irises, marking those you want to buy. Prices range from $7 to $35. Lupines and dogwoods are also blooming. You can order the irises for shipping in July through September. Don't bother going any other time since there is a limited blooming season.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding Garden open to the public.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Large wonderfully laid out garden primarily to display many tagged Iris varieties, many available for sale in the warehouse. The fields surround the Garden and Sales area.

There are plenty of porta potties, well maintained.

We use the Picnic tables when we go. There is some snack food for sale but we bring our Picnic in.

Ample parking.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveltree52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The best for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Absolutely my favorite gardens. Much more than a field of flowers. These are very artistic gardens with spectacular flowers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schreiner's Iris Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Schreiner's Iris Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing