We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For seeing kinds of Iris's great place, for beautifully kept gardens, not so much.”

Schreiner's Iris Gardens
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Early May through early June, we invite you to stroll through our 10-acre display gardens. Gift shop, plant sale, cut Iris by the stem or by the dozen. Gardens open daily dawn to dusk. FREE admission, FREE parking. Gardens closed in summer and winter months. Office remains open year-round, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Aumsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For seeing kinds of Iris's great place, for beautifully kept gardens, not so much.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I went to see the gardens because we were seeing such beautiful advertisements on TV. Well the plants were beautiful but the upkeep of the gardens and grounds themselves were very much lacking. I kept telling myself this is after-all a business to ship flowers and not made for people to tromp through! I would go there again to see the variety I might like to buy but I would not take a guest thinking to show them a beautiful garden.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Grams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding seasonal visit”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you're in the area during May...this is a Must See! So beautiful!!! I've never seen so many amazing varieties of Iris in one place. The exhibit garden is impressive, and you can even buy bunches to take with you. Loved it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoCatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything I expected and more!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I have wanted to visit this place for the past several years. We finally decided to take a drive and check it out. Oh my, I was in awe marveling over the majestic beauty. The pictures don't do justice compaired to the live up close and personal views. I baught one for myself and one for my daughter. We visited over Memorisl weekend, everything was in full bloom! We will be back again soon!

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow, what a delight!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In looking for some sights to see while celebrating our anniversary in the Salem area, I came across this gem. It was a sunny morning in mid-May and apparently the perfect time to see all the Irises in full bloom. I had really never seen anything but purple and yellow Irises so the vast amount of variety at Schreiner's was a treat. We started in the back gardens and then ventured on the little path of Rhodies, Sweet William and Peonies to the big show gardens and gift shop. We enjoyed every minute and look forward to adding more color to our garden.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Iris Garden Wander”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely gardens to wander and look at the many different varieties in bloom. Lots of benches for sitting and enjoying quiet contemplation. A wonderful way to spend the morning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyvonderlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schreiner's Iris Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Schreiner's Iris Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing