We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple fun”

Salem's Riverfront Carousel
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simple fun”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times off and on over the years. The restoration work of the carousel is amazing. Took the kids and grandkids to the park for the day. Carousel and gift shop are fun for a bit, everyone was very polite. The park surrounding the carousel has playgrounds, lots of walking paths, picnic areas and the riverboat moored. AC Gilbert house is just north of the park, another great place for the kids. Unless you are a carousel history buff, it alone doesn't take long to experience, but as a package with all of the other close by, it is well worth the time to visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank BigChickenDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    83
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salem oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great place for young and old!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stop by Cascade Baking on State Street for a great sandwich on sustainable bread and then go to Riverfront Park for a picnic. After the picnic ride the wonderful carousel - choose your horse - all hand carved by local residents!!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jsterup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tradition”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Since my granddaughter was 3 months old we have been going to the Carousel on their visits to Salem. She is now almost 13. My Russian friend has a granddaughter who visits every summer and she always wants to visit the carousel. She is 15. You are never too old. The workers are so pleasant to the children. Going for the "gold ring" out of the fishes mouth adds excitement to the ride. The gift shop is full of items for the kids as well as adults. Don't miss this enchanting tradition!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 621shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A shinning star of Salem.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Salem is blessed with a riverfront with many walking paths and it will only get bigger as time goes by. Soon a bridge to Minto Brown Island will be built to expand the paths even more. In the middle of all this is the Carousel where you and your children will have a fabulous time relaxing and enjoying the ride on all the handcrafted horses. My wife and I really love bringing our grandchildren here and enjoy a picnic while watching boats go by and just people watch. Riverfront park with the Carousel is a hidden gem of Salem!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank parlaydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Beauty”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a great place for a quick stop or picnic as it is
on the waterfront with beautiful lawns. The carousel is
an antique restoration and just gorgeous! I like come here often
for a quick escape from the hectic world and just get lost in the merry-go-round for a little while. Very therapeutic!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 60DayTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salem's Riverfront Carousel also viewed

 

Been to Salem's Riverfront Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing