We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small And Mighty!”
Review of Alcyone Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alcyone Cafe
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Small European-style cafe/restaurant with healthy, organic foods. Lunch and dinner with full bar and wine list.
salem
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small And Mighty!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Dinner with friends, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and experience. The menu is comprehensive considering the size of the restaurant. The wine options were also complete and the staff was knowledgeable in their recommendations. All in our party chose the same entree, so unfortunately we didn't have an opportunity to look at other options. We did look at what other diners were eating and they too looked good. For dessert we chose the cheesecake and were not disappointed! I'd come back just for that.

The only challenge that we experienced was the service was a bit slow, we weren't bothered too much in that we were talking, but it would benefit them to be a bit more attentive.

Extremely happy to have such a delightful place to frequent, Salem certainly needs more options of this quality for dining. Can hardly wait to return and sit outside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Support this great little place!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Wonderful little find! Fresh, interesting menu that changes with the seasons. Small, intimate and friendly. Lunch is great but dinner was even better! Support this great little place so they will stay!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great little happy hour in a nice outdoor plaza”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If Salem could only support this plaza. I keep seeing this place as an Italian piazza. With Gambrettis and Alcyone having side by side outdoor tables, imagine if this could extend out into the plaza, with entertainment and drinks and.....more people watching.

OK, so I digress. We had a wonderful happy hour here. The drinks are not discounted, but are a fair price, and the appetizers were fresh and delicious. Sitting outside is pleasant and the staff were friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for summer dining!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Great coffee, great Reuben! My friend and I are certainly returning for lunch and we both agreed to have breakfast there very soon. Our food and the service was excellent! The inside restaurant is quite small, but the outside seating is very nice and overlooks Pringle Creek. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Angel, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, but a long wait”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had lunch here recently as it came highly recommended. There were about 6 filled tables outside and we all waited for what seemed like ages for things like simple sandwiches. I'll probably try it again because of other reviews, but was not bowled over.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcyone Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing