We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good food at reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGrath's Fish House

McGrath's Fish House
Ranked #20 of 533 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We come here rather often. Teh food is good, they have decent microbrews, and great prices. I know this is a chain, but Salem it home base, so is it really a cahin when you are in its home town?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank subwaymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    55
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We ate here twice when we were visiting Salem. First time it was very crowded (Friday night) but the wait was not too bad. The meal was excellent and the service great. Second time we went during the week and it was not crowded at all and we had the same great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c0untrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
259 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The food is good, I would not say great. A bit greasy for our taste. But if your looking for a lot of food this is the place. Much more then either me or my husband could eat. Quite loud where we sat. The wait was 20 minutes. The waitress was good and efficient. Not sure we would return, not that it was bad just not our type of food.

Helpful?
Thank Dottie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

McGrath's is OK with good food but not a great value as the proportions per dollar is like many other things now days, pay more for less.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank audiome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Solid food in an excellent environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

McGrath's are pretty standard wherever you go. Little things can raise the rating. In our case the little thing was our server Paige. Her knowledge of the menu items, insights to special and overall efficiency just topped off an excellent seafood meal. Its on our list of places to visit againn

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C_and_C_Oldtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to McGrath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing