We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, great service”
Review of China Gourmet

China Gourmet
Ranked #73 of 536 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've been here a few times, greatly relieved to find fresh-tasting, delicious Chinese cuisine in the Salem area. Service was flawless, very attentive. Food arrived fast and hot and tasted very freshly prepared. Good portions, fairly priced. Will be a regular go-to. Was disappointed only by the hot and sour soup- included a few too many extras, a little too complicated. And the room is very small, but also very clean and attractive. Would recommend going off peak...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jagar451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hot! Fresh! Fast!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Delicious food with fast service in a relaxing atmosphere. Great for kids! Try the Mushroom Tofu or the Seafood Noodles!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Melissa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Where's the taste?”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We went here because it was ranked #2 in Salem. Can't figure out why. Moderate size servings. My "all seafood noodles" was downright bland. Wife's sweet n sour pork tasted okay but not a large serving.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Salem - Authentic and Delicious”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

China Gourmet is the best Chinese restaurant in Salem, no question. I've grown up in Salem and my family and I have tried them all. We all agree that China Gourmet is #1 in every way.

With any good restaurant, the Chef is the most important ingredient. At China Gourmet, they have a Chef who has led kitchens in various hotels in Las Vegas and California and we are lucky to have him in Salem now. His ability to spread the flavor evenly over each ingredient in the Wok is what makes the difference and his presentation is clean and beautiful.

I have visited Mainland China and Hong-Kong three times this past year and China Gourmet is on par with many of the restaurants I've visted over there. Their noodles are spot-on and the balance of flavor is just what it should be, allowing the diner to then add seasoning or sauce to taste like they do in China. This approach makes it much more enoyable for all.

If it is your first visit, go for any noodle dish. I always judge a restaurant on how they prepare seafood, and at China Gourmet, their scallops are choice and as fresh as anywhere I've been. If you prefer meat, go for the pork or tender beef. This Chef always cooks the meat all the way through and yet he still maintains the tenderness that makes good Chinese food stand out from mediocre.

The chili sauce they make in-house can be requested on the side, and in my opinion, that is the way to do it, so that you can control the variety of tastes as your meal progresses. They occasionally have other sauces to try, so ask one of the owners, Bingo or Jade, and you may be surprised. Although, I usually do not like hot & sour soup, I always get a cup here as it is the best around. It also works well to spread on your white rice or entire dish toward the end of the meal if you like to get creative.

It is very clear that these owners and the chef really care about the experience of their visitors. They have pride in their country and its cuisine and we are lucky that China Gourmet chose Salem, Oregon to be its home. Jade is the owner and she does a wonderful job managing the house. Her establishment is beautiful, clean, and the staff is attentive while still understanding boundaries and allowing you to have a nice experience. If you want a true Chinese dining experience, this is your best bet in the Willamette Valley.

Highlights are the Crispy Gourmet Noodles and the Twice Cooked Pork. If you are traveling through Salem or prefer to dine alone, they have really quick take out service that is reasonably priced. If you like dumplings, the ones they make by hand here are really great. Not too heavy and a great item to share.

Highest recommendations. And they have a really good website so that you can look over the menu before visiting at chinagourmetsalem.com

Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tastless”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Last week was my second dining experience at China Gourmet. I had the dumplings And the beef with noodles. First the good: the food looks delicious, décor is very nice and staff is very friendly. The bad: neither dish had any flavor whatsoever. The noodles had a nice texture but no flavor. Same for the dumplings.
I really wanted to like this place because I think Salem really needs some authentic Chinese food. I am happy for the the other reviewers who like this restaurant. I just wish the chef would be a little more bold and not play it so safe on our palates.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to China Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing