We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most authentic Italian food in Salem”
Review of Davinci's

Davinci's
Ranked #24 of 535 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ferry
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most authentic Italian food in Salem”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Literally days after getting back from living in Italy, my mom had her birthday dinner at Davinci's. I hadn't been there in years and was generally dreading going to an American-Italian restaurant. Part of my dread was correct - you just can't get the same level of food as in Italy, and some of the products actually have to be altered to fit the requirements from the FDA (like unprocessed wines & cheeses) that are common in Europe. But generally I was pleasantly surprised at their a la carte menu and the authenticity of the wines and the food. They seem to have created a nice balance between authentic Italian dining but for the American experience. Their wine selection is superior and they have a few really nice vegetarian options. Gluten free might be difficult but they are incredibly accommodating and the service is excellent.

I would highly recommend this place for dinner and they also have a gorgeous bar where everyone was watching the NBA playoffs. I would suggest reservations and this place is very "upscale" for lack of a better word, so the prices are quite high.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be my favorite restaurant”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Unfortunately, though still a very nice place to go out in Salem, I do not like the menu changes over the last few years. The camenzola bread is no longer on the menu, the pear salad (a local favorite has been gone for a while), there are not as many choices. It is good but used to be Great! Oxtails were all removed from the bone and shredded into small pieces. It was just OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great service and ambiance BUT food was disappointing”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was so nice and the ambiance was great but that just couldn't compensate for the really medicore food. The menu stated the pasta was "housemade" but our waitress said that only really the ravioli was made in house ... so I ordered that. It was bland and the ravioli was barely filled .... mostly pasta. Not a local but if I were I would not come back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Missing something. Taste.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Tuesday night. Piano player in the house. The place is full. I had high hopes. But the food was just bland. Ok the butter salad had a kick since it was served with spicy tomato sauce on it, but the crab risotto was blah. No flavor. Cold crab on top of saffron risotto.
My companion had black spaghetti and said it was missing something too. The flatbread was huge and warm so that was tasty, especially with the garlic dipping oil. Menu is limited but adequate. Maybe we ordered the wrong dishes. The service was good without being overbearing. Atmosphere is quaint and people at the bar seemed tuned up.

Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Good ”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Nice upscale atmosphere, the piano player was a nice touch. I sat at the bar and had a good glass of wine, the beet salad and the prosciutto pizza. The pizza could have easily been shared and both were delicious. It deserves it's rating.

Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davinci's also viewed

 

Been to Davinci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing