We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK late dinner . .”

Original Roadhouse Grill
Ranked #145 of 535 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: US$10 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Description: Original Roadhouse Grill features an authentic roadhouse menu and a down-home, fun lovin' atmosphere. You'll find peanuts served in buckets and peanut shells on the floor. Country music, classic rock and blues can be heard coming out of our jukebox. Bring in the whole family and crew in for a fun and delicious experience at an All American Steakhouse. Our signature rolls and mouth watering food cooked on our open-window grill will keep you coming back for more.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK late dinner . .”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

8.30 pm dinner after work in Salem. Food was cooked well but the tri-tip was a rough cut to start with. The glaze was tasty though.
Service was very attentive in the lounge area: fast n friendly. The rolls & honey butter were great. The whole rough n tumble peanuts on the floor motif seemed threadbare, though.
Overall a nice find, for an under $18 steak . . .


rough cut

Helpful?
Thank MrSmitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    18
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Food is very good and there is plenty of it. Good for families as they had a guy creating balloon animals for children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redbirdgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food in a tired roadhouse atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was here with my wife and daughter for dinner. We each ordered something different, but all had the same experience...just average.

The atmosphere may be considered fun, if fun to you is eating peanuts and throwing the shells on the floor.

The staff were all friendly, but clearly tired. We came in after the evening rush. We were slow to be seated, even though there were many open tables. We waited about 10 minutes. Not sure why. Once seated we saw the waitress at each of the customary junctures, but nothing more. We were never offered the peanuts when we sat down. Glasses ran empty, and the rolls had been finished, but there was no attempt to check on, or rectify the situation.

The menu had a broad section of what you would expect in a roadhouse. The food was slow to come, and when it did arrive it was just warm.

On a whole, nothing I would go out of my way for...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Peanuts on the floor and good steak sandwiches. Easy going place with decent food. Good for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank clh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“good food, good price”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I ate here the other day and it was perhaps one of the better parts of my trip here in town. It was close enough to my hotel that I didn't get lost. Their burgers are truly the best

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Roadhouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Original Roadhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing