We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Thai food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Orchid - Salem
Ranked #206 of 534 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really good Thai food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place has really good food, and if you're up for a good thai meal - definitely try this place if you're in Salem. I had the Yellow Curry and it was delicious; menu is very well broken down, and prices are great. Staff was very friendly, and the place is on the second floor of the building, so offers a nice view of the intersection where it's situated

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“CONSISTENT QUALITY - DELICIOUS”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Every dish is delicious - good portions, decent prices, frequent diners - consistently enjoyable food and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig-loly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good food, service could have been better.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent Pumpkin Curry with Chicken, very good noodle dish, good spring rolls. Our waitress was very nice but not terribly present. Fortunately, my daughter eats here often with friends and is quite bold about hitting up the wait station for chopsticks, condiments, and boxes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hortense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not my favorite...”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

theres a lot far better Thai restaurant than this one...the place may be huge but the flavors definitely aren't!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Critic2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had to wait at the hostess station for a few minutes to be seated.
We were seated in the upstairs area which was nearly fully occupied. Since we were scouting the restaurant for out-of-town friends who were fans of Thai food we wanted to make sure the restaurant lived up to its reputation. We found that conversation was almost impossible in the upstairs area, since the acoustics of the restaurant are so bad. Every sound resounds back and forth from the bare walls, ceilings and floors. So we asked to be moved to a quieter area below. We were taken downstairs to an area off to the side from the main lower level seating. We soon found that is where they seated mothers with babies. We certainly didn't find any quiet there. The waitress arrived with the menus, wearing a soiled white shirt. She was friendly and knew the menu. After giving us the menu she disappeared for 12 minutes. Once we ordered our orders came in a few minutes. The food had a great presentation, it was well prepared and very tasty.
This could be a great restaurant if service were improved and something was done to reduce the ambient noise level.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schersand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid - Salem also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid - Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing