We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin. tx
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel to participate in the Cycle Oregon weekend ride. The hotel was very accomaditing, even storing out bikess. We even were upgraded to a fabulous suite which was as large as a small apartment. Very well located within walking distance of very good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austin-pedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    191
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
151
175
38
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On a road trip we found this hotel online while driving down the freeway. After calling several other hotels in the area with rates of $150-$210 for a weeknight I called The Grand Hotel. When the price quoted was $30+ lower than the other hotels we booked it. Upon arrival we were very pleased. The entryway, hallways and rooms were very asthetically pleasing. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant- BEST BURGER EVER! The pool and spa were very large and clean. The fitness room was well equipped and the final topper was that they even have an expresso stand if you prefer specialty coffees. The free breakfast was a great selection of fresh fruits, eggs, and lots of carbs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RrosesWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My room was clean, comfortable and very nice. The employees were courteous, helpful and very friendly. I had room service one evening which was wonderful! The Breakfast is a full breakfast and far surpasses your expectations. One evening I walked downtown which is handy and close. I also ate at the Bentley's Restaurant in the Hotel a couple times and found the waiters and waitresses went out of their way to be accommodating and the food was Excellent. The whole experience was nothing but the BEST!!

Room Tip: I would feel very confident simply explaining what I would like in a room and relying on the desk em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Honestly, this hotel doesn't have much competition in Salem. That said, I'm pretty sure it blows the others completely out of the water.

I reserved a block of rooms for my wedding in July 2011. The reservations staff were very patient and helpful - they even placed the gift bags I'd made for the guests in their rooms. They also helped my mom get a new room when hers didn't work out, and even though it was more expensive, they still charged her the original rate.

The rooms themselves are really nice - lovely furniture, marble in the bathrooms, etc. The breakfast was pretty good, too (cheesy eggs!), and dinner at the Bentley is tasty but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A group of 20+ guests stayed at the Grand Hotel Salem having travelled from Australia for my sons wedding to a girl from a Salem family. The co-ordination of the stay for our group was an easy experience considering we were travelling such a long distance. The hotel was exceptional for our needs in every way. The breakfast an added bonus. My son had organised quite a few things to make our travel to the wedding church service and reception at Williamette Vineyard an easy experience and the hotel went along with all of our requirements. A welcome message to the guests of the wedding posted in the lift was a lovely touch. All guests were happy with their rooms and when I return to Salem I will certainly stay here again. Thankyou very much for making such a joyous occassion even more special

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

grand old lady with a great face lift, we stayed one night the bed was comfy ,free breakfast was great

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank den&deb-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY burbs
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This was the 2nd stay at the Grand Hotel for my family (mom dad and kids 5 and 7). The hotel is clean, the staff nice and helpful, our one bedroom suite was reasonable in size. The included breakfast is above average.

The hotel was full with many groups and conferences in town. We traveled in from the East Coast and were jet lagged and looking for an early night. No problem for the kids, the bedroom was quiet and the fan provided the perfect white noise. However, we had a connecting door in the living room and the neighbors were playing an accordian and a recorder. While I am embarrassed to admit it was only around 8PM, the noise was irritating and LOUD. Minor point, but next time we'll try to get the suite without the connecting door.

Parking is also an issue. The lot is full during the day with conferences, so guests have no where to park (except down the street). The 3rd time this happened, I expressed my displeasure to a management type and he let us leave the car in the driveway. Again minor point.

My family will stay here again during our annual visit. It's the best Salem has to offer.

Room Tip: Avoid connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooselee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottSalemOr, Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for the appraisal of our hotel. We would happily note a request to avoid a connecting room for your return visits. I assure you that the parking during your visit was an anomaly, but we are grateful that you took the initiative and let the desk staff know your circumstance. We really enjoy helping people feel comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing