We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My hotel room, on the third floor facing Ferry street, had road noise from routine traffic that was excessive and beyond anything I have ever experienced even in some hotels near freeways. It must have something to do with the hotel and nearby parking structure and simply bad acoustics. It made sleep nearly impossible. It is possible rooms facing other directions have no such problem and the rooms otherwise were quite lovely.

Room Tip: At a minimum, do not get a room facing Ferry street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel in Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

The lobby is grand, the rooms large and comfortable. Classy front desk staff. And the parking is free. So so breakfast is included in the very reasonable rate. A good place to stay while touring the close-by beautiful vineyards of the Willamette Valley. A great restaurant is attached to the hotel where we had one of our best meals during our stay in Oregon. Did you know that Salem is the capitol of Oregon? I didn't

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripateticmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel, it was clean, fairly priced, and the staff was courteous. It also has a very nice lobby, spacious rooms, and a great breakfast. The room also had a fridge and microwave. My only gripe was that there wasn't enough sound proofing in the ceiling, and I had some people with heavy feet staying above me...The location was great, in a nice downtown area. I had never been to Salem, and thought it was a cool place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: The hallways are long, if you have trouble walking, I suggest asking for a room near the elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Made reservation from California from road. Had troubles finding a good quality hotel that could have five in a room in Eugene and area. A phone call to The Grand procured a suite quickly for a great price. Free wifi (yay!) and parking AND breakfast. Big pool and hot tub. Excellent staff. Very clean. Maybe a bit austere for my liking but being a newer hotel that has been kept well and cleaned and maintained trumped any 'personal design preferences'. Very impressed.

Room service from the Bentley next door was also a treat and a surprise: great food, decent prices and excellent customer service by Justin.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blenderized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Large business style hotel. Very kind and understanding staff at the reception. Convenient located in walking distance from restaurants and sights of Salem citycenter. Free parking in the basement. Do not eat at restaurant Amadeus in town. Free wifi.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive then ask for a room facing the street. In some of the rooms facing the ba...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hotel this summer and were pleased with the experience. Parking is free and was very easy (underground garage). Several shopping areas within walking distance of the hotel and it seemed safe at night. The rooms were very clean and quite large. We had a suite. The lounging area had a nice-sized couch, desk, another comfortable chair and a large tv. There was a large counter top with a sink and refrigerator. Staff were very helpful and my kids and I loved the free breakfast- quite impressive for the price tag.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_K_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Grand Hotel and its staff are certainly trying their best. Our suite was large with a good definition of spaces. The sitting area furniture was huge, overstuffed and comfortable. There's a lot of counter space in the "kitchen" along with a tiny refrigerator and mini-microwave. The bathroom was well-appointed and the bed was comfortable. The lobby was very grand, the pool was large and looked clean, and the workout room was fully-equipped. The staff was competent and the underground parking is free & convenient.

However...There is only one window in the suite and it's at the end of the bedroom. This makes the sitting area at the front very dark with no view. The toilet was quite low - maybe 12-15" high, while the sink was so high I had to stand on my tiptoes just to rinse my face. Breakfast was generic at best - not much variety and the egg dish was cold. The view from our one window was of the side of an old building and lots of traffic.

The biggest detraction is the street noise. The staff is well aware of this problem and even called us at home before our visit to reassure us we would be on the fifth (highest) floor. It didn't help. You can hear everything from outside and, while we were there, they were repairing something on the street at 11:00 p.m. This wasn't a huge problem for us because my husband is a sound sleeper and I use earplugs. But if you want quiet, don't stay at the Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awryalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: £137 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing