We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Elegant the minute you walk in. Front desk attentive and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The hot tub not too hot. Really close to Willamette University, be sure to ask for the school discount if visiting the campus. Staying again when my daughter moves in to school. Did I mention free wi if and parking. Breakfast also included.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmickers11661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    181
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
142
162
37
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I only have good things to say about this hotel, which we stayed at on our way home from a road trip to California. Everything - from the easy to find location, ample parking, beautiful lobby, spacious rooms and terrific service - was perfection. Plus, the bed was super comfortable, the curtains blacked out all light and the décor was very well done.

Salem isn't a place I'd been to before, but now that I have, I'll return. And I'll stay at The Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past few years, most recently for a conference last week. It has an excellent location, within walking distance of the downtown shopping mall and directly connected to the Salem Convention Center. It has a free underground parking lot under the hotel. The decor is very nice, with warm wood tones. Unfortunately the room decor was spoiled a couple years ago when they changed all the lighting to twisty fluorescent bulbs, which are hideous and ruins the atmosphere in the rooms. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have nice furnishings, with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, and lighted make up mirror. The lighted mirrors may have been added to make up for the fluorescent lighting in the bathrooms, which are so dim I couldn't see to shave. The room was nicely made up and very clean. Everything in the room worked properly. The restaurant has good food. Overall, this is a great place to stay and I would have given it five stars except for the lighting in the room.

Room Tip: Park in the Free Underground Parking right under the Hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: I suppose the poor lighting is portrayed as environmentally friendly, but the benefit is not worth the effect it has on the nice decor.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonOpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
OregonOpus,

Welcome back and thank you for the compliments. We proud to have some outstanding comments like yours from guests that have utilized our hotel on an annual or even more regular basis. I would like to let you know that we are evaluating some additional enhancements to minimize the lighting issues. This has been brought to our attention and you are correct, we did add the lighted mirrors to help. As the technology of lighting continues to be enhanced, we hope to be able to have our guests enjoy the entire room equally.

Take care,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was very impressed by the location, cleanliness, and room size. Was in town for 4 days for a graduation and found it a delightful place to visit. Will definitely come back to see more of the area. There are many places to walk, so many coffee shops and first quality restaurants. The prices are very very reasonable

Room Tip: 5th floor on the end
See more room tips
Green Features: they are all over this topic, have many brochures and policies if you choose to participate.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
JimOB,

We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to explore while in Salem. There are many things to enjoy and we are excited that you may return to pursue some of those things.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is where I stay when in Salem. Bentley's Grill is one of the better restaurants in town off the hotel lobby and conveniently attached to Salem Convention Center for company events. I have stayed here many times and always a good experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NWJohnJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
NW JohnJames,

Thank you for the wonderful recognition, we're always pleased to see guests that have visited previously let us know that we are continuing to meet their expectations.

It is always a pleasure to serve,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were in Salem for our son's graduation from Willamette University, and stayed at the Grand Hotel for 5 nights. The location is perfect for the college and downtown restaurants, etc. Our king suite was spacious and comfortable for our group of 3 adults, and the fridge, microwave, etc. were especially appreciated for a relatively long stay. Internal soundproofing must be excellent - we hardly heard a sound from the next room or the corridor. Like many older hotels, even those that have been extensively renovated, some modern amenities are slightly lacking. The weather was quite warm, and the AC wasn't quite up to the task - we had to sleep with the window open, which meant some traffic noise. There was no real closet, just a smallish wardrobe with a few hangers (more were promptly supplied when requested), and the bathroom was short on places to hang towels, etc. On the plus side, we were delighted to find an iron and ironing board provided! Be aware that there is no door between the bedroom and the living room (where the sleeper sofa is located) - this was not a problem for us, but was a surprise. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but it would be nice to see this upgraded a bit to be more consistent with the overall style of the hotel. We did not dine in the restaurant, so I can only say that the menu looked appealing, though quite expensive. We appreciated the free underground parking and easy-to-access WiFi. This was a bit of a splurge for us, but overall well worth the price - would definitely stay here again if we're ever in Salem!

Room Tip: Depends what you like. Overlooking the street (like our room) is probably a bit noisier, but a nicer...
See more room tips
Green Features: Totally in support of these ideas, and applaud the hotel for this effort. To encourage guests to re-use towels, the hotel needs to provide additional towel bars and/or hooks in the bathroom. These were inadequate even for 2 people, let alone the 3-4 that could be expected in a suite.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
SusanB,

Thank you for the review and congratulations on the Graduation! We really appreciate the perspective you share and will work to incorporate your suggestions.

Thank you again,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had never stayed in downtown Salem, so to stay at the Grand was quite a treat. It's a very nice hotel that is super convenient and well appointed. Lovely lobby, very nice restaurant and bar, and great rooms that are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was very filling with lots of choices. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated Hotel Accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelClick so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing