We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less than satisfactory”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The front desk person was a bit curt, even a bit rude. Refused to honor AAA or AARP discount. he did not advise us which door we needed to go in thru so we had to return to the office to find the correct access door. Our bathroom had old dirt and mold around the bottom of the shower door. Corners had definite dirt deposit .Towels were skimpy. $63 was a huge over charge for what we got! Had it been earlier in the evening, we would have cancelled our reservation there and found a different place. I do not recommend this property what so ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBL010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    152
    145
    96
    46
See reviews for
183
126
73
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Room was clean, the management was pleasant to deal with. We were there for 4 nights, one night we had loud neighbors and two nights we had issues with the Dish TV. You get what you pay for, but I must say that the continental breakfast was top notch. Unfortunately our bodies and appetites were on east coast time, so we ended up going out to breakfast at 4:30 am. The continental breakfast provided a late morning snack to us.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from outside access doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Front desk was rude, bathroom shower had mold growing around glass door where seal was leaking. Carpet had strings coming out in corners, no micro wave. Breakfast was cheap & no good food to eat. Over charged for room. When reservations were made cost was quoted as $65., but paid $76 + tax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salem hotels

Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Internet access very poor. Had to move rooms closer to the router to get connection. Bed looked like it had been slept in prior (just made), Shower had spiders and hair on door (not clean). Skimpy towels. No comfortable chair to sit in. Rate it lower than Motel 6.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#14 of 23 in Salem
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
4.6 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Address: 2250 Mission St SE, Salem, OR 97302-1267
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
updated melm 3/11/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing